
 

Features  Loan Maximums 

The FEL has a fixed interest rate for the life of the loan! 

 No origination fees 

 6.90% (6.90% APR) fixed interest rate 

 Rates as low as 6.65% (6.65% APR) with online 
Auto-Pay Discount 

 0.25% rate discount for online Auto-Pay 

 No minimum credit score requirement 

 Serviced in Alaska by Alaskans 

 
Undergraduate Students: 

 On-time enrollment - up to $14,000 

 Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500 
 
Graduate Students: 

 Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000 
 
Career & Technical Education Programs: 

 Certificate - up to $10,000 

 Flight Program - up to $10,000 

 

Instructions 

Here’s What You’ll Need to Apply: 

 Social Security Number (SSN)  

 School information 

 Student information 

 Two references, one of which must be a family member 

Next Steps: 

1. Both you and the student must sign the FEL application in ink. Make a copy for your records and mail the original 

application and applicant self-certification (pages 6-9) to ACPE, at the address listed above: 

2. We will review your application and contact your student’s school to confirm their enrollment and loan needs. 

Other factors such as prior default on ACPE loans or past due child support obligations may impact your 

eligibility. 

3. If approved, we will send you a Loan Approval Disclosure (LAD). Your LAD will include your loan interest rate and 

estimated costs of credit. You must review and accept the LAD in order for your loan to be finalized. The quickest 

way to review and accept your LAD is through your ACPE online account.  

4. Loan funds will be sent to the school approximately 10 days from the date you accept the LAD. The student can 

check with the school to confirm when funds will be available to them. 

5. Monitor the status of your loan application through your ACPE online account. If you have any questions email us 

at ACPE@alaska.gov or call 800-441-2962 (465-2962 in Juneau). 

 
Did you know, you can submit this application online at acpe.alaska.gov, and be pre-approved for a loan in as little 
as 15 minutes? 

 

ALASKA FAMILY EDUCATION LOAN (FEL) 
2018/2019 APPLICATION AND PROMISSORY NOTE 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: JULY 1, 2018 – JUNE 30, 2019 
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A. Eligibility Requirements 
In order to qualify for this loan, a borrower must: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and an Alaska resident;  
2. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan, and 

within the preceding five years not have had an education loan written 
off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy;  

3. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 
4. not have a status at the time of application for a loan, or disbursement of 

the funds, that would prevent repaying the loan as it becomes due; 
5. have complied with any applicable military selective service registration 

requirements under the Military Selective Service Act. 

In order to qualify for a loan, a student for whom you are borrowing 

must: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and an Alaska resident;  
2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution; 
3. be enrolled full-time in a career vocational-technical program or an 

associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree program; 
4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the institution of 

attendance; 
5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan and 

within the preceding five years not have had an education loan written 
off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy; 

6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 

7. have complied with any applicable military selective service registration 

requirements under the Military Selective Service Act;  
8. be a spouse, child, step child, foster child, or grandchild of the borrower; 

and 
9. meet all other requirements under AS 14.43.750 and 20 AAC 15.510. 

B. Credit Assessment/Eligibility Checks: 
ACPE will review your credit history, your Social Security Number will be 

matched against the Alaska Department of Revenue, Child Support 

Enforcement Division’s database, and other required databases, to ensure 

you are eligible. To qualify for the FEL, you must not have a credit history 

that demonstrates chronic inability or unwillingness to pay an extension of 

credit. If you do not qualify, you will be informed in writing of the reason 

for the denial and given an opportunity to add a cosigner to your 

application. 

C. Cosigner: 
An eligible cosigner is required if you are under 16 years of age, do not 

meet the credit requirements, or have defaulted on a prior education loan 

with ACPE. If you elect to add a cosigner, that person will be responsible 

for the loan even in the event you meet the credit conditions independently. 

ACPE will notify the cosigner of periods of delinquency, deferments 

granted, or any repayment agreement that will change the amount due on 

the loan. ACPE can collect from your cosigner without first having to 

collect from you. 

 

D. Fees:  
ACPE charges no origination fees. You may be assessed a late fee of up to 

$15 if your payment is 30 days or more past due. In the case of default, 

you will be responsible for reasonable collection agency fees and/or 

collection and legal costs up to the total cost of collecting the debt you 

owe. 

E. Interest: 
The FEL has a fixed interest rate of 6.90%. Interest begins to accrue when 

funds are disbursed (sent to the school). Interest accrues during in-school, 

repayment and forbearance periods. Accrued and unpaid interest is 

capitalized (added to the principal balance) at various times. Generally, 

interest is capitalized any time your loan changes from a non-repayment 

status, such as forbearance periods, to a repayment status. Accrued and 

unpaid interest, late fees, and collection fees must be satisfied before 

payments are applied to principal. 

Online Auto-Pay Reduction: 

You may be eligible to receive a 0.25% interest rate reduction on your 

loan by authorizing ACPE to automatically deduct qualifying loan 

payments from a checking or savings account during the in-school, grace, 

and repayment periods. The reduction will remain in effect as long as 

qualifying automatic payments continue without interruption and other 

conditions are met. 

 

 

IMPORTANT 

Before borrowing, always use grants, scholarships, and other 

funds that do not have to be repaid. This is not a federal loan and 

does not have the same repayment options. 

Failure to timely repay this loan may result in, but is not limited 

to: 

• adverse reports to consumer reporting agencies 

• additional costs to you for collection and  
accrued interest 

• forfeiture of deferment rights 

• seizure of your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend 

• administrative wage garnishment 

• lien on property 

• a judgment in a court of law and/or legal or collection 
action 

REMEMBER—Under current loan terms, after four years of 

borrowing, monthly payments can be as much as $500 or even 

greater at graduate loan maximums. 

 Alaska Family Education Loan (FEL) 

2018/2019 Application and Promissory Note 

Loan Terms and Conditions 

The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) services the education loans owned by the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC). 
Loans made under this application are governed by Alaska law including Alaska Statutes 14.43.710 - 750 and Alaska Regulations 20 AAC 15.510–590 

and 20 AAC 15.910-15.990, as amended from time to time.  
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Qualifying Conditions: 

To qualify for the interest rate reduction, you must set-up recurring 

payments that meet the following conditions: 

 In-school Period - Payments made during the in-school period must 

be a minimum of $50.00 per loan.  

 Repayment Period – Your loan must be current in repayment, and 

payments must be a minimum of $5.00.  

 Deferment/Forbearance Periods – Payments made during deferment 

and forbearance periods must be a minimum of $50.00 per loan. 

F. Annual Percentage Rate (APR): 
The APR is the yearly cost of borrowing money, shown as a percent of 

the amount you borrowed. The APR is calculated based on the interest 

that will be charged over the life of the loan, the principal balance at 

origination, and the payment schedule, assuming that all payments will 

be made on time. 

 
This Table Represents Estimated Rates Interest Rate APR 

Principal Loan Amount $10,000         6.90% 6.90% 

 
The APR in this example assumes a principal loan amount of $10,000, a repayment  

term of 10 years and no origination fee. 

 

Federal law requires all lenders to provide this information about 

important credit protections available to members of the Armed 

Forces and their dependents. In general, the cost of consumer credit to 

a member of the Armed Forces and his or her dependent may not exceed 

an annual percentage rate of 36 percent. This rate must include, as 

applicable to the credit transaction or account: The costs associated with 

credit insurance premiums; fees for ancillary products sold in connection 

with the credit transaction; any application fee charged (other than 

certain application fees for specified credit transactions or accounts); and 

any participation fee charged. If you have any questions as to whether 

the Military Lending Act applies to you, or to receive this 

information verbally, along with a clear description of your payment 

obligation, contact us at 800-441-2962. 

G. Disbursement of Loan Funds: 
ACPE will send funds to the school’s financial aid office.  Your loan will 

be disbursed in equal installments based on the start date of the school’s 

academic terms and the student’s enrollment period unless the school 

designates alternate amounts. The disbursement amount cannot exceed 

the total certified loan amount. Funds for allowable expenses, but not 

owed directly to the school, may be released to the student.  

H. Allowable Uses of Loan Funds: 
This loan may be used for the student’s tuition and program-related costs; 

room and board (living expenses); books; supplies; and allowance for 

transportation, based on the school’s published budget. 

I. Enrollment Intensity: 
Enrollment intensity refers to whether the student attends on-time or full-

time, as defined by the school. The school’s financial aid office is 

required to certify the student’s enrollment intensity, and the loan amount 

is based on the student’s enrollment intensity. 

On-time Attendance: 

An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of fifteen (15) semester 

credit hours or equivalent per academic term. 

Full-time Attendance: 
a) An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of twelve (12) 

semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term; 
b) A graduate student enrolled in a minimum of nine (9) semester credit 

hours or equivalent per academic term; or 
c) A student enrolled in a career education program of at least thirty-(30) 

clock hours per week for a minimum of six (6) weeks. 

Flight School: 

A student enrolled in a flight school program must log a minimum of 17 

hours per month or 51 hours for a three-month period.   

J. Loan Maximums: 
You may receive up to the amount of your annual eligibility, as certified 

by the school, subject the loan maximums described below.   

Note: The loan amount may be different from the amount disbursed, due to 

changes in your eligibility, enrollment or academic standing. Financial aid 

staff are not agents of ACPE and have no authority to change the terms and 

conditions of this Promissory Note. 

Undergraduate Students: 

• On-time enrollment - up to $14,000 
• Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500 

Graduate Students: 

• Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000 

Career, Technical Education and Flight Programs: 

• Up to $10,000 

Cumulative Loan Maximums:  
• Undergraduate study (including career/technical/flight) - $56,000 
• Graduate study - $60,000 
• Combined total - $87,000 

A borrower who receives Family Education Loans on behalf of more 

than one student and has borrowed up to the cumulative maximum may 

receive additional loans if the current total principal balance owed, 

including the new loan amount, does not exceed the cumulative 

maximum. 

K. Repayment: 
A repayment schedule will be established when the final disbursement is 

sent to the school, student drops below a full-time enrollment status, 

withdraws from school, or graduates, whichever is sooner. Generally, 

you must repay the loan in monthly installments of at least $50 per 

month for up to 10 years. Payments can be as much as $500 or greater 

depending on the total amount borrowed. The repayment term may be 

extended in qualifying situations, which also increases the total amount 

to repay. For borrowers who do not make payments after the first 

disbursement, the repayment schedule will be the one set forth in the 

Final Disclosure. 

Application of Payments: 

Payments received will be applied first to any late charges then accrued 

interest. Any remaining amount will be applied to the principal balance 

of the loan. Payment on a delinquent loan will be applied first to 

collection costs (including late fees), then to any outstanding interest 

charges, then to the outstanding principal balance of the loan, until those 

amounts are paid in full. 

L. Forbearance 

No deferment options are available for this loan; however, if you meet 

certain requirements, you may receive a forbearance that allows you to 

temporarily stop making payments on your loan. Forbearances are 

provided at the discretion of the lender. 

M. Americans With Disabilities Act Compliance: 
Otherwise qualified individuals shall not, based on a disability, be 

discriminated against or excluded from participation in, or the benefits 

of, the services, programs or activities of ACPE. Please notify ACPE if 

you need a disability accommodation. 
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N. Information Sharing and Privacy Act Notice: 
Information you provide in this application will be used to verify your 

identity; to determine eligibility; to service the loan; to maintain current 

contact information; and to collect on delinquent or defaulted loans. 

This information may be furnished during the life of the loan to holders 

of this and other ACPE Alaska education loans made to you; to 

postsecondary schools where the student is enrolled or is accepted for 

enrollment; to guarantee agencies; to government agencies or private 

parties who may be able to provide information necessary for the 

collection of the loan or to assist in the servicing or collection of the 

loan; or as needed to contractors and other third parties involved in 

servicing the loan.  

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is required as a 

condition for participation in the loan program and as allowed under 

Section 7(a) (2) of the Privacy Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-579). The SSN 

will be used to verify your identity, and although not used as the 

account number, may be used to identify account holders throughout the 

life of the loan.  

ACPE may use your SSN to access state or federal databases and other 

resources to determine your eligibility for administrative action or 

administrative garnishment in cases of default. 

ACPE and any of their contractual servicers, including debt collectors, 

will use all phone numbers, including cell phone numbers you provide, 

in the servicing of this loan.  By providing ACPE or any of its servicers 

with a telephone number, including a cell number, you are giving 

permission for any of these parties to call you on that number, 

including calls placed by automated dialing systems leaving virtual 

messages.  

A copy of ACPE’s Privacy Policy is available on our website. 

https://acpe.alaska.gov/Privacy.

Borrower Responsibilities and Agreements 

 NOTICE: Information concerning the amount of this loan and its 

status will be reported to nationwide consumer reporting agencies 

upon initial disbursement and continue on a regular basis until the loan 

is paid in full. Late payments, missed payments, or Defaulting on this 

loan will also be reported to the consumer reporting agencies and will 

result in forfeiture of any deferment rights. 

If you believe that any information about your loan that we have 

furnished to a consumer reporting agency is inaccurate, or if you 

believe that you have been victim of identity theft in connection with 

any other education loan made by us, write to us at the following 

address: 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 110505 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

In your letter (i) provide your name and the loan or account number, 

(ii) identify the specific information that is being disputed, (iii) explain 

the basis for the dispute and (iv) provide any supporting 

documentation you have that substantiates the basis of the dispute.  If 

you believe that you have been the victim of identity theft, submit an 

identity theft affidavit or identity theft report. 

 You (the borrower) and student must meet all eligibility requirements 

listed under section A: Eligibility Requirements to qualify for this loan 

and to continue to receive new loans. 

 You must use any ACPE funds solely for the expenses listed under 

section H: Allowable Uses of Loan Funds.  

 You must report to ACPE any change that affects the conditions of 

this loan within 30 days. You understand you waive any objections 

based on a lack of notice if you fail to report any of the following 

changes: 

a) change of name, address, telephone number, or other contact 

information; 

b) change of institution, dates of attendance, or enrollment status; 

c) failure to enroll at the school for the period for which the loan was 

obtained; 

d) graduation, withdrawal, or dismissal from the course of study for 

which the loan was awarded; or 

e) inability to make payments as scheduled. 

In the event bankruptcy proceedings are commenced, you must notify 

ACPE, in writing, at the address listed below, within 20 days after the 

petition is filed. 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 110505 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

 You authorize the release of information pertinent to your loans:  

1) by the school or ACPE to the references or cosigner on your loan 

application, or to members of your immediate family unless you 

submit written direction otherwise; and  

2) by and among the school, ACPE and loan servicing contractors or 

resource providers, the U.S. Department of Education and the State 

of Alaska. You further authorize the references provided or any 

educational institution you may attend to release to ACPE, or 

subsequent holder or their agents, any requested information 

pertinent to this loan or to assist in its collection. 

 You must repay the loan in accordance with the repayment schedule 

established by ACPE; however, you have the option to request a 

shorter repayment schedule at any time. 

 You understand any communication with ACPE required or permitted 

under the Federal Bankruptcy Code must be in writing, must include 

your account number, and must be sent to: 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 110505 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

 You authorize ACPE to use automated telephone dialing, text 

messaging systems and electronic mail to provide messages to you 

about scheduled payments, missed payments and other important 

information regarding this Agreement or ACPE’s relationship with 

you. The telephone messages may be played by a machine 

automatically when the telephone is answered, whether answered by 

you or someone else. These messages may also be recorded by your 

answering machine. You give ACPE permission to call or send a text 

message to any telephone number you have given or you give to 

ACPE in the future, and to play pre-recorded messages or send text 

messages with information about the Agreement over the phone. You 

also give permission to communicate such information to you by e-

mail. You understand that, when you receive such calls, texts, or e-

mails, you may incur a charge from the company that provides you 

with telecommunications, wireless and/or internet services. You agree 

that ACPE will not be liable to you for any fees, inconvenience, 

annoyance or loss of privacy in connection with such calls, texts, or e-

mails. You understand that anyone with access to your telephone or 

email account may listen to or read the messages, notwithstanding 

ACPE’s efforts to communicate only with you. If a telephone 

number(s) you have provided to ACPE changes, or if you cease to be 

the owner, subscriber or primary user of such telephone number(s), 

you agree to immediately give ACPE notice of such facts so that we 

may update your records. 
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You understand and agree that, subject to applicable law, ACPE may 

monitor and/or record any of your phone conversations with any of its 

representatives for training, quality control, evidentiary, and any other 

purposes. However, ACPE is not under any obligation to monitor, 

record, retain, or reproduce such recordings, unless required by 

applicable law. 

To revoke consent to the use of autodialed calls, please contact us at 

800-441-2962. 

 You understand you must fulfill your obligations on this loan, and if 

you default, ACPE may declare the entire unpaid amount of the loan, 

including interest and fees, immediately due and payable. Any of the 

following conditions could result in your default status: 

▪ acceptance of funds for which you are not eligible; 

▪ a loan payment becomes 180 or more days past due; 

▪ falsification of any information in connection with this loan, 

whether by omission or commission; 

▪ failure to notify ACPE within 30 days after any change that affects 

the conditions of a loan or its repayment schedule, including any 

change of name, address, telephone number; or 

▪ failure to maintain Alaska legal residency while borrowing under 

this program, as applicable. 

 You understand if you default on this loan, ACPE may garnish your 

Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend. ACPE may transfer your loan to a 

collection agency, garnish your wages or other assets, and place a lien 

on your assets in order to collect this debt. 

 

 You understand your responsibility for paying the loan evidenced by 

the Note is unaffected by the liability of any other person to you or to 

ACPE, or by ACPE’s failure to notify you that a required payment has 

not been made. You further understand acceptance by ACPE of any 

(a) late payments, (b) partial payments or (c) payments marked “paid-

in-full” or with other restrictions of the amounts in arrears will not 

waive or affect any prior demand for immediate payment of the total 

balance of this debt. ACPE may delay or fail to exercise or waive any 

rights on any occasion without losing its entitlement to exercise the 

right at any future time or any future occasion. ACPE will not be 

obligated to make any demand on you, send you any notice, present 

this Promissory Note to you for payment or make protest of non-

payment to you before suing to collect on this Note if you are in 

default, and to the extent permitted by applicable law, you hereby 

waive any right you might otherwise have to require such actions. 

Except as otherwise provided in this Note, you waive any right to 

receive notice of intention to accelerate the balance of the loan and any 

right to receive notice of acceleration. YOU WILL NOT SEND 

ACPE PAYMENTS MARKED “PAID-IN-FULL,” “WITHOUT 

RECOURSE” OR WITH OTHER SIMILAR LANGUAGE 

UNLESS THOSE PAYMENTS ARE MAILED TO THE 

FOLLOWING ADDRESS: 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 110505 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

 You understand that the following notice is only applicable to loans 

issued to finance attendance at for-profit educational institutions or 

institutions otherwise subject to the FTC Holder Rule under 16 CFR 

433.2.  

NOTICE: ANY HOLDER OF THIS CONSUMER CREDIT 

CONTRACT IS SUBJECT TO ALL CLAIMS AND DEFENSES 

WHICH THE DEBTOR COULD ASSERT AGAINST THE 

SELLER OF GOODS OR SERVICES OBTAINED WITH THE 

PROCEEDS HEROF. RECOVERY HERUNDER BY THE 

DEBTOR SHALL NOT EXCEED AMOUNTS PAID BY THE 

DEBTOR HEREUNDER. 

 By signing this promissory note, you certify: 

1) You are not delinquent, nor have you ever been in default, on an 

education loan, nor had such a loan written off for any reason, except 

bankruptcy, within the past five years; 

2) You are not past due in paying an established child support 

obligation; 

3) You do not have a status, at the time of application for a loan or 

disbursement of loan money, that would prevent  you from repaying 

this loan as it becomes due; 

4) You have not defaulted on another loan made by a lending entity 

within the previous seven years;  

5) You are a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen; and 

6) You are an Alaska resident as defined under section A of the Loan 

Terms and Conditions.
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BORROWER INFORMATION 

Last Name:         First Name: Social Security Number: 

Date of Birth:   Driver’s License or State ID #:       State: Telephone Number:  (      )  - 

Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street):  City:  State:  Zip: 

Email Address: 

STUDENT INFORMATION 

Last Name:     First Name: Social Security Number: 

Date of Birth: Email Address: Telephone Number:  (      )  - 

Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street):  City:  State:  Zip: 

SCHOOL INFORMATION  SCHOOL CODE (ACPE use only): 

School Name & Location (State):  

Enrollment Intensity (See definition under section I of the Loan Terms & Conditions): On-time  Full-time  Half-time 

Academic Dates:                To   Tuition Type:     Resident          Non-Resident         No Differential    Western Undergraduate Exchange 

Grade Level:  Indicate whether you will be an undergraduate, graduate, career/technical or flight student for the academic period and your class standing. 

Undergraduate:        Freshman      Sophomore  Junior        Senior Graduate (Year):    1  2  3  4       Career/Tech    Flight 

Field of Study/Program Title: 

REFERENCES 

Provide two separate references with different U.S. addresses. Your references should be someone with whom you expect to remain in regular contact. Your 

references will be contacted if we need to verify or update your contact information. 

Reference 1 Name: 

Mailing Address: 

Telephone: 

Relationship: 

City, State, Zip: 

Email: 

Reference 2 Name: 

Mailing Address: 

Telephone: 

Relationship: 

City, State, Zip: 

Email: 

BORROWER INFORMATION  

Alaska Family Education Loan (FEL)

2018/2019 Application and Promissory Note 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT PROCEDURES FOR OPENING A NEW ACCOUNT 
 To help the government report the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, Federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and 
record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for me:  When I apply for a student loan, you will ask for my name, 

address, date of birth and other information that will allow you to identify me.  You may also ask to see my driver’s license or other identifying documents. 
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PROMISE TO PAY 

THIS IS A LOAN THAT MUST BE REPAID 

BORROWER: I PROMISE TO PAY to the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education the loan amount advanced plus interest and fees. I understand that that 

this is a Note for a loan that I am required to repay  I certify that I do not have a status, at the time of application for a loan or disbursement of loan money, that would 

prevent the borrower from repaying the loan as it becomes due. In the event of my death or disability, any cosigner shall remain obligated for the amount due on 

the loan. 

BORROWER AND STUDENT: We, the borrower and the student, understand that multiple loan disbursements may be made under this note. We have read, 

understand and will abide by all terms and conditions set forth in this application and Promissory Note, and we have retained a copy of this packet for our records.  

By signing, we certify under penalty of perjury that all information provided in support of this application is true to the best of our knowledge. We further certify that 

we meet all eligibility requirements. We agree to be bound by the Borrower Loan Terms and Conditions, the Borrower Responsibilities and Agreements, and the terms 

of this Promissory Note. We agree that any stray marks or notations made to this Promissory Note in places other than fields requiring applicant completion will not 

become part of this agreement. Note: A person who makes a false certification has committed a criminal offense. 

Signature of Student (In Ink): _________________________________________________________________Date:____________________ 

The borrower and student must sign, date, and return to ACPE 

Signature of Borrower (In Ink): _______________________________________________________________Date:_____________________ 
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________________________________________________________________________________________________  
Important:  Pursuant to Section 155 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, (HEA) and to satisfy the requirements of Section 128(e)(3) of the Truth in 
Lending Act, a lender must obtain a self-certification signed by the applicant before disbursing a private education loan. The school is required on request to provide 
this form or the required information only for students admitted or enrolled at the school. Throughout this Applicant Self-Certification, “you” and “your” refer to the 
applicant who is applying for the loan. The applicant and the student may be the same person.  
 
Instructions:  Before signing, carefully read the entire form, including the definitions and other information on the following page. Submit the signed form 
to your lender.       

SECTION 1:  NOTICES TO APPLICANT   

 Free or lower-cost Title IV federal, state, or school student financial aid may be available in place of, or in addition to, a private 
education loan. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans and work-study, submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) available at www.fafsa.ed.gov, or by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 

 A private education loan may reduce eligibility for free or lower-cost federal, state, or school student financial aid.  
 You are strongly encouraged to pursue the availability of free or lower-cost financial aid with the school’s financial aid office.  
 The financial information required to complete this form can be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. If the lender has 

provided this information, you should contact your school’s financial aid office to verify this information and to discuss your 
financing options.  

 

SECTION 2: COST OF ATTENDANCE AND ESTIMATED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE  
If information is not already entered below, obtain the needed information from the school’s financial aid office and enter it on the appropriate line. Sign 
and date where indicated.  See Section 5 for definitions of financial aid terms. 
 

A. Student’s cost of attendance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan   $____________________ 
B. Estimated financial assistance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan  $____________________ 
C. Difference between amounts A and B   

 WARNING: If you borrow more than the amount on line C, you risk reducing your eligibility for 
free or lower-cost federal, state, or school financial aid.    

$____________________ 

SECTION 3: APPLICANT INFORMATION    
Enter or correct the information below.               
 
Full Name and Address of School ________________________________________________________________________________________________________      
 
Applicant Name (last, first, MI) ___________________________________________________      Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 
 
Permanent Street Address __________________________________________________________________     
 
City, State, Zip Code __________________________________________________________________ ____________________        
 
Area Code / Telephone Number   Home (          ) ____________________________        Other (          ) ____________________________        

 E-mail Address________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Period of Enrollment Covered by the Loan (mm/dd/yyyy)        From _____ / _____ / _______ to _____ / _____ / _______                                      
 
If the student is not the applicant, provide the student’s name and date of birth.      
 
Student Name (last, first, MI) ____________________________________________________      Student Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 
 

SECTION 4: APPLICANT SIGNATURE   
 
I certify that I have read and understood the notices in Section 1 and, that to the best of my knowledge, the information provided on this form is true and correct.   
 

Signature of Applicant ____________________________________________________________________   Date (mm/dd/yyyy) _______________________      

OMB No. 1845-0101 
Form Approved 
Exp. Date 07-31-2019 

Private Education Loan  
Applicant Self-Certification  
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SECTION 5: DEFINITIONS 
 
Cost of attendance is an estimate of tuition and fees, room and board, transportation, and other costs for the period of enrollment covered by the loan, as 
determined by the school. A student’s cost of attendance may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 
 
Estimated financial assistance is all federal, state, institutional (school), private, and other sources of assistance used in determining eligibility for most Title IV 
student financial aid, including amounts of financial assistance used to replace the expected family contribution. The student’s estimated financial assistance is 
determined by the school and may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 
 
A lender is a private education lender as defined in Section 140 of the Truth in Lending Act and any other person engaged in the business of securing, making, or 
extending private education loans on behalf of the lender. 
 
A period of enrollment is the academic year, academic term (such as semester, trimester, or quarter), or the number of weeks of instructional time for which the 
applicant is requesting the loan.     
 
A private education loan is a loan provided by a private education lender that is not a Title IV loan and that is issued expressly for postsecondary education 
expenses, regardless of whether the loan is provided through the school that the student attends or directly to the borrower from the private education lender. A 
private education loan does not include (1) An extension of credit under an open-end consumer credit plan, a reverse mortgage transaction, a residential mortgage 
transaction, or any other loan that is secured by real property or a dwelling; or (2) An extension of credit in which the school is the lender if the term of the extension 
of credit is 90 days or less or an interest rate will not be applied to the credit balance and the term of the extension of credit is one year or less, even if the credit is 
payable in more than four installments. 
 
Title IV student financial aid includes the Federal Pell Grant Program, the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program, the Federal 
Work-Study (FWS) Program, the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program, the Federal Perkins Loan Program, and the Teacher Education 
Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans, and work-study, submit a Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), which is available at www.fafsa.gov, by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 
 

SECTION 6: PAPERWORK REDUCTION NOTICE  
 

Paperwork Reduction Notice: According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it 
displays a currently valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 1845-0101. The time required to complete this 
information collection is estimated to average 0.25 hours (15 minutes) per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather 
and maintain the data needed and complete and review the information collection. 
 If you have any comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to:  U.S. Department of 
Education, Washington, DC 20202-4651     
If you have any comments or concerns regarding the status of your individual submission of this form, contact your lender.   
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Alaska Family Education Loan Application and Solicitation Disclosure 

 
 
 
 
Loan Interest Rate & Fees 

 
Your Interest Rate (upon approval)  
The interest rate you pay will be 6.90%. The interest rate is not 
dependent on your credit score or other factors. 
 

Your Interest Rate during the life of the loan  
Your rate is fixed. This means that your rate remains the same 
for the life of the loan. For more information on this rate, see the 
reference notes. 
 

 

Loan Fees  
Origination Fee: No origination fee is charged. 
Late Fees:  A late fee of up to $15 may be charged for delinquent payments that are 30 days or more past due.    

Loan Cost Examples  

The total amount you will pay for this loan will vary depending upon when you start to repay it.  This example provides 
estimates based upon two repayment options available to you. 

Repayment Option  
(while the student is enrolled in 
school) 

Amount Provided  
(amount provided 
directly to you or your 
school) 

Interest Rate 

(highest possible 
starting rate) 

Loan Term  
(how long you have 
to pay off the loan) 

Total Paid 
over 10 years 

(includes 
associated fees) 

1. DEFER PAYMENTS 
Make no payments until after 
second disbursement. 

$10,000 6.90% 10 years 
Repayment begins 
after second 
disbursement 

$14,046.25 

2. PAY ONLY THE INTEREST 
Make interest payments while 
student is in school, but defer 
payments on the principal amount 
until after second disbursement.  

$10,000 6.90% 10 years 
Interest payments 
begin after first 
disbursement. 
Principal payments 
begin after second 
disbursement 

$13,997.44 

3. MAKE FULL PAYMENTS 
Make principal and interest 
payments while student is in 
school. 

$10,000 6.90% 10 years 
Repayment begins 
after first 
disbursement 

$13,934.45 

About this example  
The repayment example assumes two disbursements before beginning repayment. The repayment period is 10 years following the second disbursement. 
There is no grace period.  

 

 

Your interest rate will be  

  

6.90%  

  
Your rate will remain the same for the life of 
the loan.  

Page 1 of 2 

Alaska Student Loan Corporation 

P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, AK  99811-0505 
800-441-2962 in Juneau 907-465-2962 
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973 
www.acpe.alaska.gov 
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Federal Loan Alternatives 
 

Loan Program Current Interest Rates by Program Type 

PERKINS 
for Students 

5.00% fixed 

DIRECT 
for Students 

5.05% fixed Undergraduate subsidized 

5.05% fixed Undergraduate unsubsidized 

6.60% fixed Graduate or professional unsubsidized 

DIRECT PLUS  
for Parents and Graduate / 
Professional Students 

7.60% fixed  

   

Next Steps  
 

1. Find Out About Other Loan Options.  
Some schools have school-specific student loan benefits and terms not detailed on this form. Contact your school’s 
financial aid office or visit the Department of Education’s web site at: www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov for more 
information about other loans.  

2. To Apply for this Loan, Complete the Application and the Self-Certification Form.  
The Self-certification form is provided to you as part of the loan agreement packet. You may get the information you 
need to complete the form from your school’s financial aid office.  If you are approved for this loan, the loan terms will 
be available for 30 days (terms will not change during this period, except as permitted by law).  

REFERENCE NOTES 

Fixed Interest Rate  
 This loan has a fixed interest rate. 
  
Bankruptcy Limitations  
 If you file for bankruptcy, you may still be required to 

pay back this loan.    
 

 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 

Eligibility Criteria  
Borrower 

 Must be 16 years or older at the time of application. 

 Meet all other eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application 
and loan agreement. 

Student 

 Must be 16 years or older at the time of application. 

 Must be enrolled at least full-time in a career vocational-technical 
program or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree 
program. 

 Meet all other eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application 
and loan agreement. 

Cosigner 

 Must be 18 years or older at the time of application. Meet all other 
eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application and loan 
agreement. 

 

More information about loan eligibility and forbearance options is 
available in your loan application and loan agreement.    

 

You may qualify for 

Federal education loans. 

 
For additional information, 
contact your school’s 

financial aid office or the 

Department of Education at: 
 
www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov 

Page 2 of 2 
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