ALASKA PERFORMANCE SCHOLARSHIP

Career & Technical Eligibility Checklist

Career & Technical APS Awards are for CERTIFICATE programs and cannot be used for associate or other degrees. Students with qualifying SAT/ACT scores may use either the CTE or Collegiate Award. level 1 level 3 UP TO \$4,755 **UP TO** \$3,566 per year \$2,378 □ CURRICULUM ☐ CURRICULUM **CURRICULUM GPA 2.5** (or greater) **GPA 3.5** (or greater) п **GPA** 3.0 (or greater) ☐ **TEST SCORES** WORKKEYS 13* **TEST SCORES** WORKKEYS 13* **TEST SCORES WORKKEYS 13*** (ACT 21 or SAT 1450 may be used as a substitute) (ACT 23 or SAT 1560 may be used as a substitute) (ACT 25 or SAT 1680 may be used as a substitute) *A combined score of 13 or higher, with no score below 4, is required in Applied Math, Locating Information, and Reading for Information. Math & Science Curriculum SCIENCE MATH standard courses standard courses physical science algebra 1 4 UNITS algebra 2 earth science **MATH** biology geometry trigonometry chemistry 4 UNITS pre-calculus physics SCIENCE marine biology calculus calculus 2 anatomy & physiology 4 UNITS statistics LANGUAGE ARTS 4 UNITS SOCIAL STUDIES standard courses **SOCIAL STUDIES** LANGUAGE ARTS standard courses ☐ composition world history American literature American history world literature geography speech & debate American government advanced composition civics Social Studies & Language Curriculum creative writing economics British literature Alaska history western civilization must be the same foreign. eastern civilization 2 UNITS Alaska Native, or **WORLD LANGUAGE** psychology American Sign language sociology Each school district is responsible for 3 UNITS providing students with a complete list of all courses that qualify for the APS. **MATH** Districts may include two APS qualifying course categories – standard and additional. Additional courses may be used as follows: for the Social Studies & Language Curriculum, 3 UNITS one additional course is permitted in each subject area (math, science, language arts, and **SCIENCE** social studies). For the Math & Science Curriculum, one additional course each is permitted for math and language arts, two each are permitted for science and social studies. Also, (for the 4 UNITS Math & Science Curriculum only) a foreign language, Alaska Native Language, American Sign LANGUAGE ARTS Language, cultural heritage or fine arts course may be substituted for one standard course of social studies. 4 UNITS Contact your counselor for more information about APS-approved courses. Approved courses **SOCIAL STUDIES** may also be available through resources such as Alaska's Learning Network (AKlearn.net) or the University of Alaska. Eligibility is determined based upon courses with a letter grade contained in your school's permanent student record. 01/08/2014

To apply for the APS students must complete a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) by June 30th of each year.



Student GPA: __

Student Test Score & Test Date:



On Track to Qualify? Get Ready to Put Your Award to Work!

Career & Technical Award To get the APS, you must file a FAFSA and be admitted (attending at least half time) to a qualifying program. Career & Technical APS Awards are for certificate programs and cannot be used for associate or other degrees.

INITIAL AWARD CHECKLIST		TIPS:
-------------------------	--	-------

Yes No N/A

Institution: Major/Program:	The CTE APS is for qualifying Alaska career and technical certificate programs. Participating institutions and eligible programs are listed online at APS.alaska.gov. Programs requiring fewer than 24 credits, or less than 30 clock hours per week for at least 12 weeks may be eligible for half-time awards.
Program Full-Time Eligible? Yes No	Occupational Endorsement Certificates (OECs) and private pilot programs are not eligible.
Advisor Contact:	Meet with an enrollment or academic advisor and let them know you plan to attend

Before the deadlines - complete the application, pay Admissions Application Deadline: any fees, and provide all required documents. Admissions Requirements: Once accepted, let the institution know you plan to

attend. Conditional admissions means you still must complete the process– submit final high school transcripts immediately after you graduate and meet any other conditions promptly.

HOUSING TIP:

At some institutions, housing fills up fast, so if you plan to live on campus, be sure to submit your housing application early, too.

FAFSA Filed? Yes Date Filed:

Financial Aid Deadline:

Conditions Completed?

Accepted? Yes

Conditions:

Financial Aid Advisor Contact:

Notified of Intent to Enroll? Yes No File your FAFSA as soon after January 1 as possible but no later than June 30 (APS deadline). Be sure to file by your institution's financial aid deadline to be considered for more financial aid.

Accept (or decline) the financial aid outlined in the school's award notice. Your APS may not appear in your first award notice. Tell your financial aid staff you plan to attend using an APS. If you have significant other grant or scholarship aid, your APS amount may be affected – your financial aid staff can help with any questions.

Date Course Registration Opens:

Financial aid certification window:

of credits registered for:

Deadlines to add/drop courses:

Make sure you are registered for sufficient credits/clock hours. If you are responsible for registering for your own classes, register as soon as course registration opens. If you need English and/or Math placement tests, take them as early as you can - and remember to prepare for them!

If you're in a credit-based program, find out your school's financial aid certification deadline. Before that date, register for 12 or more credits to receive a full-time APS, or 6 to 11 credits for a half-time APS.

Now that you have the APS Award - Keep it!

	My high school graduation date:	+ 6 years = My APS expiration date:
-	Cumulative GPA & Credits Completed	Satisfactory Academic Progress Requirements
	Credit-Based Certificate Program:	In a credit-based certificate program, earn:
G	Semester: credits GPA Final: credits cumulative GPA	 24 semester credits for a full-time award 12 semester credits for a half-time award a 2.0+ cumulative GPA
	Non-Credit-Based Certificate Program:	In a non-credit based certificate program, attend:
)	Clock Hours: # of Weeks:	# at least 30 clock hours per week for not less than 12 weeks for a full-time award
		at least 15 clock hours per week for not less than 6 weeks for a half-time award

You must also meet applicable satisfactory academic progress requirements of your postsecondary institution and program.

NOTE: Only one year of an award will be made for a single career and technical certificate program, regardless of program length. The CTE APS award cannot be used for other degree types, such as associate's or bachelor's. Occupational endorsement certificates and private pilot's programs are also not eligible.

You may use the CTE APS to complete consecutive certificate programs. An APS may be used for no more than 8 semesters/12 quarters (4 academic years), for full-time or half-time attendance.