
 

  
 
   
A. Eligibility Requirements: 
In order to qualify for a loan, you must: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and an Alaska resident; 
2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution; 
3. be enrolled at least full-time in a career vocational-technical 

program or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree program 
in a fisheries related field; 

4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the institution 
you attend; 

5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan 
and within the preceding five years not have had an education loan 
written off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy; 

6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 
7. not have a status at the time of application for a loan, or 

disbursement of the funds, that would prevent you from repaying 
the loan as it becomes due; 

8. If a flight student, hold an applicable pilot’s license and be enrolled 
in a flight-training course certified under Part 141 or 142. Submit a 
copy of your pilot’s license with your application; and 

9. have complied with any applicable military selective service 
registration requirements under the Military Selective Service Act.   

B. Credit Assessment/Eligibility Checks: 
ACPE will review your credit history, and your Social Security Number 
will be matched against the Alaska Department of Revenue, Child 
Support Enforcement Division’s database, and other required databases, 
to ensure you are eligible.  To qualify for the Winn Brindle loan, you 
must have a credit history that demonstrates good credit or have a credit-
worthy cosigner; if you do not qualify, you will be informed in writing of 
the reason for the denial and given an opportunity to add a cosigner to 
your application. 

C. Interest: 
The Winn Brindle has a fixed interest rate of 5%. Interest begins to 
accrue when you cease to attend at least full-time at an eligible school.  
Interest accrues during grace, repayment, deferment, and forbearance 
periods. Accrued and unpaid interest is capitalized (added to the principal 
balance) at various times. Generally, interest is capitalized any time your 
loan changes from a non repayment status, such as grace or deferment 
periods, to a repayment status. Payments are applied first to accrued 
interest, then to the principal balance.  

D. Fees: 
ACPE charges no origination fee. If your loan becomes past due in 
payment, you may be responsible for late fees, collection agency fees, 
and/or legal fees.  
 
 
 

 
 

 

E. Annual Percentage Rate (APR): 
The APR is the yearly cost of borrowing money, shown as a percent of 
the amount you borrowed.  The APR is calculated based on the loan’s 
unpaid interest, principal balance and the remaining months to repay. For 
this reason, the APR may be different from the interest rate that is being 
charged on your loan balance.   
     
   This Table Represents Estimated Rates         Interest Rate     APR 

Principal Loan Amount $8,500         5.00% 3.35% 

The APR in this example is based on a freshman borrower and assumes four years until 
graduation, a principal loan amount of $8,500, a repayment term of 15 years, and no 
origination fee. 

Federal law requires all lenders to provide this information about 
important credit protections available to members of the Armed Forces 
and their dependents. In general, the cost of consumer credit to a member 
of the Armed Forces and his or her dependent may not exceed an annual 
percentage rate of 36 percent. This rate must include, as applicable to the 
credit transaction or account: The costs associated with credit insurance 
premiums; fees for ancillary products sold in connection with the credit 
transaction; any application fee charged (other than certain application fees 
for specified credit transactions or accounts); and any participation fee 
charged. To receive this information verbally, contact us at 800-441-
2962. 

IMPORTANT 
Before borrowing, always use grants, scholarships, and other funds 
that do not have to be repaid. This is not a federal loan and does not 
have the same repayment options. 

Failure to timely repay this loan may result in, but is not limited to: 

• adverse reports to consumer reporting agencies 

• additional costs to you for collection and  
accrued interest 

• forfeiture of loan deferment rights 

• seizure of your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend 

• denial of renewal of Alaska occupational or professional 
license 

• administrative wage garnishment 

• lien on property 

• a judgment in a court of law and/or legal or collection 
action 

REMEMBER—Under current loan terms, after four years of 
borrowing as an undergraduate, monthly payments can be as much 
as $500 or even greater at graduate loan maximums. 

A.W. “Winn” Brindle Memorial Education Loan 

2016/2017 Application and Promissory Note 

Alaska Commission on
Postsecondary Education 

 

P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

 

Customer Service Center 
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962 

In Juneau: (907) 465-2962 
TDD: (907) 465-3143 
Fax: (907) 465-5316 

acpe.alaska.gov 

The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) services the education loans owned by the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC). Loans 
made under this application are governed by Alaska law including Alaska Statutes 14.43.250 - 325 and Alaska Regulations 20 AAC 15.610 – 690 as 

amended from time to time. 

Loan Terms and Conditions 
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F. Cosigner: 
An eligible cosigner is required if you are under 17 years of age, do not 
meet the credit requirements, or have defaulted on a prior education loan 
with ACPE. If you elect to add a cosigner, that person will be responsible 
for the loan even in the event you meet the credit conditions independently. 
ACPE will notify the cosigner of periods of delinquency, deferments 
granted, or any repayment agreement that will change the amount due on 
the loan. 

G. Disbursement of Loan Funds: 
ACPE will send funds to your school’s financial aid office.  Your loan will 
be disbursed in equal installments based on the start date if your school’s 
academic terms and your enrollment period.  

H. Allowable Uses of Loan Funds: 
You must be enrolled full-time in a degree or certificate program in a 
fisheries, fisheries science, fishery management, seafood processing, food 
technology, or other closely related field. If your are enrolled full-time, this 
loan may be used for tuition and program-related costs; room and board 
(living expenses); books; supplies; and allowance for transportation, based 
on your school’s published budget.   

I. Loan Maximums: 
You may receive funding to cover all costs related to tuition and program-
related costs; room and board (living expenses); books; supplies; and 
allowance for transportation. 

J. Repayment: 
A repayment schedule will be established when you drop below a full-
time enrollment status, withdraw from school or graduate, whichever is 
sooner. Generally, you must repay in monthly installments of at least $50 
per month up to 15 years, but that term may be extended in qualifying 
situations, which also increases the total amount of debt you will repay. 

Grace Period: 
You will automatically receive a one-time, six-month interest-bearing grace 
period before the repayment period begins. The first payment will be due no 
later than 45 days after the last day of the grace period. 

K. Deferment of Repayment: 
This loan includes deferment options during qualifying periods.  Interest 
continues to accrue during deferments. You should consider carefully costs 
and benefits associated with deferments. You may elect to pay interest 
during deferment and reduce the overall costs of borrowing. Defaulting on 
your loan will result in forfeiture of any deferment rights. 

Prior loans from ACPE will be placed into student deferment, if eligible, 
based on notification of qualifying full-time enrollment.  

L. Forgiveness Benefits: 
You may be eligible for forgiveness benefits of 10 percent a year, for up to 
50 percent of the loans principal balance. In order to qualify for forgiveness, 
you must: 

1. receive the certificate or degree for which this loan was awarded; 
2. be employed full-time in a qualified fisheries related field;  
3. have qualifying employment and residency in Alaska; and  
4. be current in repayment.  

The forgiveness will reduce the number of monthly payments you must 
make, but will not reduce the amount of the monthly payment. 

M. Americans With Disabilities Act Compliance: 
Otherwise qualified individuals shall not, on the basis of a disability, be 
discriminated against or excluded from participation in, or the benefits of, 
the services, programs or activities of ACPE. Please notify ACPE if you 
need a disability accommodation. 

N. Notice of Information and Privacy Act Notice: 
Information you provide in this application will be used to verify your 
identity; to determine eligibility; to service the loan; to maintain current 
contact information; and to collect on delinquent or defaulted loans. This 
information may be furnished during the life of the loan to holders of this 
and other ACPE Alaska education loans made to you; to postsecondary 
schools where the borrower is enrolled or is accepted for enrollment; to 
guarantee agencies; to government agencies or private parties who may be 
able to provide information necessary for the collection of the loan or to 
assist in the servicing or collection of the loan; or as needed to contractors 
and other third parties involved in servicing the loan.  

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is required as a condition 
for participation in the loan program and as allowed under Section 7(a) (2) of 
the Privacy Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-579). The SSN will be used to verify 
your identity, and although not used as the account number, may be used to 
identify account holders throughout the life of the loan.  

ACPE may use your SSN to access state or federal databases and other 
resources to determine your eligibility for administrative action or 
administrative garnishment in cases of default. 

ACPE and any of their contractual servicers, including debt collectors, will 
use all phone numbers, including cell phone numbers you provide, in the 
servicing of this loan.  By providing ACPE or any of its servicers with a 
telephone number, including a cell number, you are giving permission for 
any of these parties to call you on that number, including calls placed by 
automated dialing systems leaving virtual messages.  

A copy of ACPE’s Privacy Policy is available on our website. 
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1. Name 
Enter your full legal name including your middle name. If your name 
has changed since a prior application, attach documentation of the 
name change (driver’s license or marriage certificate). 

2. Social Security Number 
Enter your Social Security Number as it appears on the card issued to 
you by the Social Security Administration. Incorrect numbers will 
delay application processing.  

3. Mailing Address/Telephone Numbers 
Enter your mailing address where documents are to be sent. If 
ACPE does not have your correct address at all times, document 
processing may be delayed or your loan cancelled. If your address is  
General Delivery or includes no street name, number or post office 
box, you must attach a written explanation. Enter your daytime and 
evening telephone numbers where we may contact you. If you do 
not have one, write “none” in the spaces available. Note that by 
providing ACPE with a telephone number, including a cellular 
telephone number, you are giving permission for ACPE and any 
contracted servicer, including debt collectors, to contact you using 
the phone numbers provided to place autodialed calls or leave 
virtual messages in association with servicing of the loan. 

If you are applying for your first loan and are not in Alaska, you must 
complete a residency questionnaire, unless your application is for a 
loan to attend an institution in Alaska. 

4. Email Address 
Enter your email address here. 

5. Date of Birth 
Enter the month, day, and year of your birth. 

6. Driver’s License Number 
Enter the state issuing your driver’s license and your license number. 
If you are an Alaska resident and your license was issued by another 
state, you must attach a letter of explanation. 

7. Gender 
Specify your gender. This field will be used to match the federal 
database of persons registered for Selective Service. 

8. College/Institution Name 
Enter the name and address of the school where you plan to use the 
loan. Only one school may be listed on an application. If you plan to 
transfer to a different school, you must contact ACPE. Only one 
application for the same specified period of attendance will be  
processed at a time. If you are undecided about where you will 
attend, give your best estimate and promptly revise your loan 
application as necessary. 
 

9. School Identification Code 
This field is for ACPE office use only. 

10. Major Course of Study/Vocational Program 
Specify your major program of study. Note that you must be 
enrolled in a fisheries-related field in order to qualify for funds from 
this program. 

11. Graduation 
Indicate when you expect to complete the degree or certificate 
program listed.  

12. Enrollment Level 
Indicate whether you will be an undergraduate, graduate, vocational, 
or flight student for the academic period specified, and your class 
standing in the program. If you are an undergraduate and will 
become a graduate during this school year, you must complete a 
separate loan application if you wish to receive a graduate level loan 
award. 

13. Terms (Collegiate Students Only) 
Check the boxes that indicate the terms you will be attending based 
on the system used by your institution (e.g. quarter or semester). 

14. Dates of Attendance 
Enter the beginning and ending dates for the terms you will be 
attending using this loan. 

15. Tuition Type 
Indicate the type of tuition you will be charged this school year.  

16. Housing Type 
Indicate where you will be living during the enrollment period. 

17. References 
Both references must be completed. 

PROMISSORY NOTE 

18. Signature and Certification 
Sign in ink, in the space provided. This is your promise to pay. 

Review your Application/Promissory Note to make sure you 
have correctly completed all items. 

Line-By-Line Instructions for Completing the Application/Promissory Note 

Complete all items except those SHADED IN GRAY. Do not use a pencil. Use a black ballpoint pen or typewriter. 

NOTE: Incorrect or incomplete information may cause your application to be rejected. 
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Alaska Commission on
Postsecondary Education 

 

P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

 

Customer Service Center 
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962 

In Juneau: (907) 465-2962 
TDD: (907) 465-3143 
Fax: (907) 465-5316 

acpe.alaska.gov 

  

  

SECTION A:   Borrower Information  Print Neatly in Black Ink or Type  Read the Instructions on Page 4 

1. Last Name    First Name   Middle Name 
 

2. Social Security Number 

3. Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street) 
 

_________________________________________________________   City ________________________   State _____________   Zip ______________ 
 
Daytime Phone Number ( ______ ) ________ - ______________           Evening Phone Number: ( ______ ) ________ - ______________ 

4. Email Address 5. Date of Birth 6. Driver’s License 
State________________ 
#___________________ 

7. Gender 

 Male    Female 
      

SECTION B:   School Information 

8. College Institution  Address   City                State               Zip 9. School Identification Code 
(ACPE use only) 

10. Major Course of Study/Vocational Program Title 11. Expected Graduation Date 
_______/______  
(Month/Year) 

12. Enrollment Level 
Undergrad     Fresh   Soph   Jr.   Sr.   Vocational 

               Grad     1      2      3      4           Flight 

13. Collegiate Terms 

 Fall Sem/Qtr/Tri      Winter Sem/Qtr/Tri 

 Spring Sem/Qtr/Tri      Summer Sem/Qtr/Tri 

14. Dates of Attendance for Loan 
Period 
__/__/____ To __/__/____ 

15. Tuition Type 

 Resident   Non-Resident 

 No Differential  WUE 

16. Type of Housing  (circle one)              Campus Housing  Parent’s Housing  Off-Campus 

SECTION C:   References. You must provide two separate references with different U.S. mailing addresses. The first reference should be the nearest 
relative not living with you. Both references must be completed. You should list references who will be able to provide contact information in the future. 

Reference 1  
 
 
  

Name:      Relationship: 

Address:      City, State, Zip: 

Daytime Phone:      Evening Phone: 

Email:           Employer:  

Reference 2  Name:      Relationship: 

Address:      City, State, Zip: 

Daytime Phone:      Evening Phone: 

Email:           Employer: 

SECTION D:   Loan Amount and Promise to Pay 

Loan Amount Financed: You will receive up to the amount of your eligibility 
on an annual basis (see loan maximums). 
Note: The award amount and the amount your school disburses may be different due to 
changes in your eligibility status between the date of award and the disbursement date.   
Institutional financial aid staff are not agents of ACPE and have no authority, express, 
implied or apparent, to modify terms and conditions of this PN. 

Interest Rate – 5.00% 

 

Return original to ACPE and make a copy for your records                        Application must be signed in ink

A.W. “Winn” Brindle Memorial Education Loan 

Application and Promissory Note 
The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) services the education loans owned by the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC). 
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A. Statement of Educational Purpose 
I certify that I will use any ACPE funds I receive solely for the expenses 
listed under Allowable Uses of Loan Funds. I understand that I am 
responsible for immediately repaying any funds I receive that cannot 
reasonably be attributed to meeting my qualifying educational expenses. 

B. Maintaining Alaska Residency  
I understand that in order to be eligible to receive this loan, I must be a legal 
Alaska resident. My eligibility to receive new loans continues only while I 
remain an Alaska resident. 

C. Maintaining Academic Good Standing 
I must maintain academic good standing according to my school’s 
requirements. I must have successfully completed any vocational program of 
study previously funded by an Alaska state education loan prior to receiving 
loan funds for any additional vocational program of study. 

D. Changes Requiring Notification 
I will promptly report to ACPE in writing any change that affects the 
conditions of a loan or its repayment schedule, including any: 
a) change of name, address, or telephone number; 
b) change of institution, dates of attendance, or enrollment status; 
c) failure to enroll at the school for the period for which the loan was 

obtained; 
d) graduation, withdrawal, or dismissal from the course of study for which  

the loan was awarded; 
e) inability to make payments as scheduled; or 
f) Bankruptcy proceedings that are commenced by or against me (notification 

should occur within 20 days after the petition is filed. 

Failure to comply with these reporting requirements may result in ACPE 
declaring my loan in default and demanding payment in full of my 
outstanding loan balance. 

E. Repayment 
ACPE will establish a repayment schedule when I drop below a full-time 
enrollment status, withdraw from school or graduate, whichever is sooner.  I 
will automatically receive a one-time, six-month interest-bearing grace 
period before the repayment period begins. My first payment will be due no 
later than 45 days after the last day of my grace period. I will repay this loan 
in monthly installments of at least $50 within a 15-year repayment period. At 
any time, I may request a shorter repayment schedule. The terms and 
conditions of repayment will be set forth in a separate document that ACPE 
will provide to me before the repayment period begins. The terms and 
conditions of repayment will be set forth in a separate document that ACPE 
will provide to me before the repayment period begins. I must repay the loan 
in accordance with the repayment schedule that ACPE gives me.  

F. 

Information Sharing 
I authorize the release of information pertinent to my loans: (1) by the school 
or ACPE to the references or cosigner on the applicable loans, or to members 
of my immediate family unless I submit written direction otherwise;  
and (2) by and among my schools, ACPE and the U.S. Department of 
Education and the State of Alaska. I further authorize the references provided 
or any educational institution that I may attend to release to ACPE, or 
subsequent holder or their agents, any requested information pertinent to this 
loan or to assist in its collection. 

G. Use of Contact Information 
I authorize ACPE and any of their contractual servicers, including debt 
collectors, to use all phone numbers, including cell phone numbers provided 
by me, in the servicing of my loans.  I understand that these calls are often 
placed by automated dialing systems leaving virtual messages. 

H. Default and Consumer Reporting 
I understand I must fulfill my obligations on this loan, and if I default, ACPE 
may declare the entire unpaid amount of the loan, including interest and fees, 
immediately due and payable.  Any of the following events could constitute 
my default status: 
• acceptance of funds for which I am not eligible; 
• a loan payment becomes 180 or more days past due; 
• falsification of any information in connection with this loan, whether by 

omission or commission; 
• failure to notify ACPE within 30 days after any change that affects the 

conditions of a loan or its repayment schedule, including any change of 
name, address, telephone number; or 

• failure to maintain Alaska legal residency while borrowing under this 
program, as applicable. 

I understand if I default on this loan, ACPE may garnish my Alaska 
Permanent Fund Dividend or prevent renewal of an Alaska occupational 
license held by me. ACPE may transfer my loan to a collection agency, 
garnish my wages, and place a lien on my assets for collection of this debt. 

Information concerning the amount of this loan and its status will be reported 
to nationwide consumer reporting agencies upon initial disbursement. If I 
default on this loan, the lender will also report the default to consumer 
reporting agencies. Default status will result in the forfeiture of any 
deferment rights. 

  

 

Borrower Responsibilities and Agreements 

18. I PROMISE TO PAY to the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education the loan amount advanced plus interest and fees. I CERTIFY: 1) I am not 
delinquent, nor have I ever been in default, on an education loan, nor had such a loan written off for any reason within the past five years; 2) I am not past due 
in paying an established child support obligation; 3) I do not have a status that would prevent me from repaying this loan as it becomes due, including any 
conditions that prevent future employment; 4) I have not defaulted on any consumer loan; 5) I am a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen; and 6) I am otherwise 
qualified to be a borrower for this loan. 

I understand that this is a Note for a loan I am required to repay. I understand that multiple loan disbursements may be made to me under this Note. I have read 
and understand all information provided in this packet. I have retained a copy of this packet for my records. By signing, I certify under penalty of perjury that 
all information I have provided in support of this application is true to the best of my knowledge and that I agree to abide by the terms and conditions of this 
Note and the application packet and to repay this loan.  I agree that any stray marks or notations made to this Master Promissory Note in places other than 
fields requiring applicant completion will not become part of this agreement.  

I further certify that: 1) I am enrolled in an eligible career education or degree program; and 2) I am an Alaskan resident  

THIS IS A LOAN THAT MUST BE REPAID — Note:  A person who makes a false certification has committed a criminal offense. 

Signature of Borrower (In Ink): _______________________________________________________________  Date: ____________________

Sign and return to ACPE at address shown. 
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________________________________________________________________________________________________  
Important:  Pursuant to Section 155 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, (HEA) and to satisfy the requirements of Section 128(e)(3) of the Truth in 
Lending Act, a lender must obtain a self-certification signed by the applicant before disbursing a private education loan. The school is required on request to provide 
this form or the required information only for students admitted or enrolled at the school. Throughout this Applicant Self-Certification, “you” and “your” refer to the 
applicant who is applying for the loan. The applicant and the student may be the same person.  
 
Instructions:  Before signing, carefully read the entire form, including the definitions and other information on the following page. Submit the signed form 
to your lender.       

SECTION 1:  NOTICES TO APPLICANT   

 Free or lower-cost Title IV federal, state, or school student financial aid may be available in place of, or in addition to, a private 
education loan. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans and work-study, submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) available at www.fafsa.ed.gov, or by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 

 A private education loan may reduce eligibility for free or lower-cost federal, state, or school student financial aid.  
 You are strongly encouraged to pursue the availability of free or lower-cost financial aid with the school’s financial aid office.  
 The financial information required to complete this form can be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. If the lender has 

provided this information, you should contact your school’s financial aid office to verify this information and to discuss your 
financing options.  

 

SECTION 2: COST OF ATTENDANCE AND ESTIMATED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE  
If information is not already entered below, obtain the needed information from the school’s financial aid office and enter it on the appropriate line. Sign 
and date where indicated.  See Section 5 for definitions of financial aid terms. 
 

A. Student’s cost of attendance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan   $____________________ 
B. Estimated financial assistance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan  $____________________ 
C. Difference between amounts A and B   

 WARNING: If you borrow more than the amount on line C, you risk reducing your eligibility for 
free or lower-cost federal, state, or school financial aid.    

$____________________ 

SECTION 3: APPLICANT INFORMATION    
Enter or correct the information below.               
 
Full Name and Address of School ________________________________________________________________________________________________________      
 
Applicant Name (last, first, MI) ___________________________________________________      Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 
 
Permanent Street Address __________________________________________________________________     
 
City, State, Zip Code __________________________________________________________________ ____________________        
 
Area Code / Telephone Number   Home (          ) ____________________________        Other (          ) ____________________________        

 E-mail Address________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Period of Enrollment Covered by the Loan (mm/dd/yyyy)        From _____ / _____ / _______ to _____ / _____ / _______                                      
 
If the student is not the applicant, provide the student’s name and date of birth.      
 
Student Name (last, first, MI) ____________________________________________________      Student Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 
 

SECTION 4: APPLICANT SIGNATURE   
 
I certify that I have read and understood the notices in Section 1 and, that to the best of my knowledge, the information provided on this form is true and correct.   
 

Signature of Applicant ____________________________________________________________________   Date (mm/dd/yyyy) _______________________      

OMB No. 1845-0101 
Form Approved 
Exp. Date 07-31-2019 

Private Education Loan  
Applicant Self-Certification  
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SECTION 5: DEFINITIONS 
 
Cost of attendance is an estimate of tuition and fees, room and board, transportation, and other costs for the period of enrollment covered by the loan, as 
determined by the school. A student’s cost of attendance may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 
 
Estimated financial assistance is all federal, state, institutional (school), private, and other sources of assistance used in determining eligibility for most Title IV 
student financial aid, including amounts of financial assistance used to replace the expected family contribution. The student’s estimated financial assistance is 
determined by the school and may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 
 
A lender is a private education lender as defined in Section 140 of the Truth in Lending Act and any other person engaged in the business of securing, making, or 
extending private education loans on behalf of the lender. 
 
A period of enrollment is the academic year, academic term (such as semester, trimester, or quarter), or the number of weeks of instructional time for which the 
applicant is requesting the loan.     
 
A private education loan is a loan provided by a private education lender that is not a Title IV loan and that is issued expressly for postsecondary education 
expenses, regardless of whether the loan is provided through the school that the student attends or directly to the borrower from the private education lender. A 
private education loan does not include (1) An extension of credit under an open-end consumer credit plan, a reverse mortgage transaction, a residential mortgage 
transaction, or any other loan that is secured by real property or a dwelling; or (2) An extension of credit in which the school is the lender if the term of the extension 
of credit is 90 days or less or an interest rate will not be applied to the credit balance and the term of the extension of credit is one year or less, even if the credit is 
payable in more than four installments. 
 
Title IV student financial aid includes the Federal Pell Grant Program, the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program, the Federal 
Work-Study (FWS) Program, the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program, the Federal Perkins Loan Program, and the Teacher Education 
Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans, and work-study, submit a Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), which is available at www.fafsa.gov, by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 
 

SECTION 6: PAPERWORK REDUCTION NOTICE  
 

Paperwork Reduction Notice: According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it 
displays a currently valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 1845-0101. The time required to complete this 
information collection is estimated to average 0.25 hours (15 minutes) per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather 
and maintain the data needed and complete and review the information collection. 
 If you have any comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to:  U.S. Department of 
Education, Washington, DC 20202-4651     
If you have any comments or concerns regarding the status of your individual submission of this form, contact your lender.   
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Alaska Student Loan Corporation  
P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, AK  99811-0505  
 

 
Loan Interest Rate & Fees 

 
Your Starting Interest Rate (upon approval)  
The interest rate you pay is set in state statute AS 14.43.305(i)  
at 5%. 

  
Your Interest Rate during the life of the loan  
Your rate is fixed. This means that your rate remains the same 
over the life of the loan. For more information on this rate, see the 
reference notes. 

 
 

 

Loan Fees  

Origination Fee:  No origination fee is charged. 
Late Fees:  A late fee of up to $15 may be charged for loan payments 30 days or more past due.    
Collection Costs:  In the case of default, reasonable collection agency fees and/or collection and legal costs will be charged 
up to the total cost of debt collection.  

  

Loan Cost Examples  

The total amount you will pay for this loan will vary depending upon when you start to repay it.  This example provides 
estimates based upon repayment options available to you while enrolled in school. 

Repayment Option  
(while enrolled in school) 

Amount Provided  
(amount provided 
directly to you or your 
school) 

Interest Rate 
(highest possible 
starting rate) 

Loan Term  
(how long you have 
to pay off the loan) 

Total Paid 
over 15 years
 

1. DEFER PAYMENTS 
Make no payments while enrolled 
in school and grace period. 
Interest will be charged and 
added to your loan 

$10,000  5.0% 15 years 
Repayment 
begins after the 
grace period 

$14,592.60

2. PAY ONLY THE INTEREST 
No interest accrues during the in-
school period 

N/A 5.0% 15 years 
Repayment 
begins after the 
grace period 

N/A 

3. MAKE FULL PAYMENTS 
Pay principal while enrolled in 
school and grace period.  
Payments begin after first 
disbursement 

$10,000  5.0% 15 years 
Repayment 
begins after the 
grace period 

$12,873.42 

About this example  
The repayment example assumes that you remain in school for four years, have a six-month grace period before beginning repayment, 
and a loan amount of $10,000. The repayment periods are 15 years, and are based on the current interest rate for this program year.   

  

Your interest rate will be  

  

5.0%  

After the starting rate is set, your rate will 
remain the same over the life of the loan 

Toll Free 800-441-2962 
In Juneau 465-2962 

TTY 907-465-3143 
www.acpe.alaska.gov 
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Federal Loan Alternatives 
 

Loan Program Current Interest Rates by Program Type 

PERKINS 
for Students 

5.00% fixed 

STAFFORD 
for Students 

3.76% fixed Undergraduate subsidized & 
unsubsidized 

5.31% fixed Graduate unsubsidized 

PLUS  
for Parents and 
Graduate Professional 
Students 

6.31% fixed  

 

Next Steps  
 

1. Find Out About Other Loan Options.  
Some schools have school-specific student loan benefits and terms not detailed on this form.   
Contact your school’s financial aid office or visit the Department of Education’s web site at:  
www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov for more information about other loans.  

  
2. To Apply for this Loan, Complete the Application and the Self-Certification Form.  

You may get the certification form from your school’s financial aid office.  If you are approved for this 
loan, the loan terms will be available for 30 days (terms will not change during this period, except as 
permitted by law).  

REFERENCE NOTES 

Fixed Interest Rate  
This loan has a fixed interest rate over the life of the loan. The interest 
rate is set in State Statute at 5%. 

  
Bankruptcy Limitations  
If you file for bankruptcy, you may still be required to pay back this 
loan.    

  

  

  

  

   

  

  
 
More information about loan eligibility and repayment 
deferral or forbearance options is available in your loan 
application and loan agreement.    

Eligibility Criteria  
In order to qualify for a loan, you must:  
1. be a U.S. Citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and an Alaska resident; 
2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution;  
3. be enrolled at least full-time in a career vocational-technical program 

or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree program in a 
fisheries related field;  

4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the institution 
you attend;  

5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan and 
within the preceding five years not have had an education loan written 
off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy; 

6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 
7. not have a status at the time of application for a loan, or disbursement 

of the funds, that would prevent you from repaying the loan as it 
becomes due;  

8. have a credit history that demonstrates good credit or have a credit 
worthy cosigner; 

9. If a flight student, hold an applicable pilot’s license and be enrolled in a 
flight-training course certified under Part 141 or 142; and  

10. have complied with the Military Selective Service registration 
requirements under the Military Selective Service Act. 

 

You may qualify for a Federal 
education loan. 
For additional information, contact 
your school’s financial aid office or 
the Department of Education at: 
 

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov 
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