
 

ALASKA COMMISSION ON POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 
INSTITUTIONAL STANDARDS AND EVALUATION COMMITTEE 

 
 

Zoom link 
Meeting #: 826 8464 9290 

Password: ACPE_ISEC 
Teleconference: (888) 788-0099; Code: 826 8464 9290# 

 
 

Thursday, August 26, 2021 
 
1. 2:00 p.m. Convene/Roll Call 
                     
2.                         Election of Officers 
 
3.  Presentation on Regulatory Changes – Tyler Eggen, 
  Institutional Authorization Program Coordinator  
 
4.  Committee Members’ Questions & Feedback 
 
5.  Public Comment 
 
6. 3:00 p.m.    Adjourn 
 
 
 
 
   

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/82684649290?pwd=YzlSajB0YzdZaUc1SENwdWpoY0Q0dz09


a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

REVISIONS TO THE INSTITUTIONAL 

AUTHORIZATION PROCESS AND FEES



a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

WELCOME
• Sana Efird, Executive Director
• Kate Hillenbrand, Director of Communications & Outreach
• Tyler Eggen, Institutional Authorization Program Coordinator
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

INSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION LAW
• Alaska Statute 14.48 sets out authorities and 

responsibilities 
• Alaska Administrative Code 20 AAC 17 is the 

regulation that implements the statute
• Regulation must comply to the Statute
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

INSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION HISTORY
• 20 years since last comprehensive review
• 22 years since last fee increase
• Lacking in modern standards
• Process is overly complex and regulation is hard 

to understand
• Regulations project began in early 2018 with 

survey and feedback sessions
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

PROPOSED CHANGES
• Authorization processes streamlined
• Fees aligned with services 
• Annual financial and student outcomes reporting
• Annual student data reporting published in 

• Alaska Career Information System
• Higher Education Almanac
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

ANNUAL REPORTING/RENEWAL

Annual  - Simplified Reauthorization Process
• Financial Health
• Appropriate Surety Bonding / Insurance
• Student Outcomes
• Certification of no changes to programs, leadership, 

location
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

FEES
• No general funds are provided for institutional oversite, 

although mandated in statute 
• 14.48.090 directs the commission to establish fees 
• Fees were last modified in 1998

• To keep up with inflation, fees would need to increase 
62%.

• Fees charged to institutions cover less than 1/4 of cost 
of services required by statute.  
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NEW PROPOSAL – FEES
• Overall increases to IA fees while considering the impacts on 

schools
• Annual fees align with the proposed annual reporting 

structure
• Removes fee exemption for 501(c)(3) with less than 30 

students
• Exemption from authorization

• Institutions needing certifications for accreditors. (Mostly out of 
state institutions) $250.00 biennial renewal.

• Others $250.00 upon request with five-year renewal. (Mostly in state 
institutions).
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

FEE COMPARISON 9

Current Fee Proposed Fee
Initial Authorization or 
Change in Ownership

$2500 $2750 (for 3 programs, + 750 for each 
additional program, includes site visit)
$5000 Maximum

Renewal of Authorization or
Annual Reporting

$500 Minimum
$2500 Maximum 
(3% of tuition revenue) 
1 to 5 years

$400 Minimum 
$1000 Maximum
(1.2% of annual tuition revenue) 
Paid Annually

Change in Location $500 $500
Change in Mission $100 $750
New Program $100 $750 per program 
Program Amendment $100 $750 per program
Administrative Determination -- $200
Late Fee $250 $500
Site Visit $500 $750



OTHER STATES COMPARISON 10

Initial Fee Renewal Fee
Arizona $800 Revenue Fee 

1. Less Than $50,000                              $600 
2. $50,000 to $249,999                          $750
3. $250,000 to $499,999                        $1,000
4. $500,000 to $999,999                        $1,300
5. $1,000,000 to $2,499,999                 $1,650
6. $2,500,000 to $6,999,999                 $2,000
7. $7,000,000 and over                          $2,300

Colorado $5000 per School
$2500 for Additional Campus

$2,500 Annually

Hawaii For institutions with enrollment of:               
100 or less                         $10,000
100+                                    $19,000

For institutions with enrollment of:
100 or less                                               $10,000
100+                                                         $19,000

New Mexico $1,000 plus fees Based on annual gross tuition revenue:
• $1,000,000+ $5,000 
• $500,000/$999,999 $3,000
• $250,000/$499,999 $2,000 
• $50,000/$249,999 $1,000 
• Less than $50,000 $500

Utah Accredited institutions = $1,500 
Unaccredited degree and non-degree 
granting institutions = $500 

One percent (1%) of the gross tuition income of the 
registered program(s) during the previous year, but not less 
than $500 or more than $2,500.



a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

RENEWAL COST COMPARISON
11

Current Fee Schedule For 3 Year Authorization Annual Reporting Cost Over 3 Years
Tuition Revenue Renewal Fee   Annual Cost Tuition Revenue Annual Cost
$20,000 $  600                  $200 $20,000 $ 300
$50,000 $1500 $500 $50,000 $ 600
$75,000 $2250 $750 $75,000 $ 900

$83,333 + * $2500 $833 $83,333 +* $1000

*The majority of schools fall into this category .

The Commission may grant renewal period for up to 5 years.  Typical period is between 1 to 3 years.  



a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

STUDENT OUTCOME DATA 12

• Collected annually
• Student data from your institution published in online 

platform Alaska Career Information System and in the 
Higher Education Almanac

• Already required in renewal of authorization process will 
be simplified and collected annually

• Free resource available to Alaska students and general 
public 

• Influence student decision on where to invest their 
education $.



a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

NEW ANNUAL REPORT
Simplified financial reporting requirements
Institution may provide one of the following to the commission: 

(1) internally prepared financial statements; or 
(2) financial statements audited by an independent licensed 

certified public accountant; or, 
(3) a compilation report with full disclosure

Online reporting of completion and placement of vocational 
students 

Similar to the process used for institutions that publish in 
annual Almanac
Include specific data on student contact information, place 
of employment, position, and date employed
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

OTHER REGULATIONS REVISIONS
• Improve clarity
• Modernize outdated standards 
• Simplify application process
• Annual reporting ensures oversight between 

renewal periods
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

NEXT STEPS
• After receiving feedback on the proposed changes, staff 

will finalize the recommendations
• Present changes to Commission in July to open  public 

comment period
• Adoption or modifications by Commission in October
• Once adopted, forms will be revised and a website 

specific to IA will be created.
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a c p e . a l a s k a . g o v

IA REGULATION REVIEW

Questions?

16



 

 
Chapter 17 Regulation Sectional Analysis 

Revised: 6/8/21  
Page 1 of 5 

 

  
 

INSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION 
 

P.O. Box 110505 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

Phone: 907.465.6741 
Fax: 907.465.5316 

acpe.alaska.gov

   

       Sectional Analysis for Alaska Administrative Code Chapter 17 
      ________________________ 

 
ARTICLE 1. AUTHORIZATION TO OPERATE AND AGENT’S PERMITS 
 
20 AAC 17.015 Exemptions  
 

• Reorganizes section. 
• Adds new exemption for paid on-the-job training or apprenticeship programs. 
• Adds new exemption for programs that are operated by another state agency or political 

subdivision of the state. 
• References 20 AAC 17.055(a) for fees. 
• Changes timeframe and fee for exemption renewals –  

o Current: Biennial renewal with a $100 fee. 
 Out of state distance education (not member of NC-Sara) still have a 

biennial renewal.  All other exemption categories: have a five-year renewal 
period, or sooner if conditions change. 

• References criminal penalties under AS 14.48.190 and AS 14.48.200 for providing the false 
information to the commission in order to appear to qualify for exemption from 
authorization. 

 
20 AAC 17.020 Application for authorization to operate 
 

• Reorganizes section. 
• Clarifies if an institution does not qualify for exemption, an authorization to operate in the 

state is required.  
• References 20 AAC 17.055(a) for fees. 
• Outlines the application process, timeline, and conditions resulting in a late fee. 
• Removes the procedural type details relating to action the commission may take when 

reviewing an application for authorization. Instead, regulation now states the commission 
may approve, approve with conditions, deny, or grant a continuation of an application.    

• Changes initial authorization period from “up to two years” to 18 months.   
• Adds statement that academic soundness evaluation by a third party may be required. If 

required, the applicant will pay the third party review fee.  
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20 AAC 17.025.  Renewal of authorization to operate 
 

• Outlines the application process, timeline, and conditions resulting in a late fee. 
• Indicates authorization approval period for up to five years.   

 
 20 AAC 17.030 Application for agent’s permit 

• Reorganizes section. 
• Clarifies independent recruiters must apply to the commission for an agent’s permit.  
• References 20 AAC 17.055(a) for fees. 
• Outlines the application process and deadline for submitting applications.  

 
20 AAC 17.040  Status changes 

• References 20 AAC 17.055(a) for fees. 
• Removes requirement to notify the commission of change in senior management.  Expands 

status change to include change in physical location or tuition and fees.  Most status 
change Notices are now required 90 days in advance or as soon as plans for the change are 
known. 

• Changes notification requirement from 30 to 90 days for change of ownership. 
• Adds a requirement for institutions to provide communications with accrediting agencies or 

oversight bodies that document changes that depart from recent authorization application. 
• Adds a requirement for institution to notify commission prior to change in curriculum or 

instructional delivery method.  
• Add that authorization is restricted to courses or study indicated in authorization. 

application at the approved location. Changes require a program amendment application 
and commission approval. 
 

20 AAC 17.045 Bonding requirements 

• Removes option for Cash Deposit. 
• Changes bonding requirement to be based on revenues, in the most recent calendar, or 

fiscal, 12 month period rather than program period, term, or semester from the previous 
academic year.  

• Removes Pay-As-You-Go-School bonding amounts. Example:  flight school 
• Relocates subsections H, I, and J (financial soundness) to new section: 20 AAC 17.102 

Financial soundness. 
 

20 AAC 17.055 Fees 

• Changes fee structure to a fee schedule reviewed and adopted by the Commission annually 
instead of fees set out in regulation.  

• Removes fee waiver for institutions that are tax-exempt under U.S.C 501(c) (3) and have an 
annual enrollment of less than 30 students. 
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20 AAC 17.060  General operating standards 

• Adds requirement for institutions to document a student meets generally accepted pre-
requisites for licensing and employment standards for their field of study, prior to 
enrolment.  

• Relocates (b) An authorization to operate an institution is restricted to the fields or courses 
specifically indicated in the application for authorization. The holder of an authorization 
shall present a program amendment application for approval of additional fields or courses 
in which it seeks to offer instruction. An institution may offer courses of study only at 
locations for which it has been approved - to 20 AAC 17.040 Status Changes. 

• Relocates I, J, K, and L (financial soundness, unaudited financial statement criteria, 
definitions) to a new section: 20 AAC 17.102 Financial Soundness.  
 

20 AAC 17.062  Student outcomes 

• Changes section title to annual reporting standards. 
• Reorganizes section. 
• Establishes annual reporting of student performance indicators, financial soundness, 

surety, and life-safety requirements for schools not reporting to Integrated Postsecondary 
Education Data System (IPEDS). 

• Revises reporting categories for career technical or vocational institutions.  Data similar to 
similar to what is reported in the Almanac.  

• Adds that institutions with high withdrawal (+25%) or placement (-70%) rates shall provide 
a written explanation and plan for improvement. 

• Adds statement that data collected may be made publicly available.   
 

20 AAC 17.070  Advertisement and solicitation 
 

• Adds requirement for all institutions to disclose the delivery method of courses offered and 
percent offered online.  

• Prohibits an institution from advertising a program that prepares a student for employment 
unless the program meet application licensure requirements.  

 
20 AAC 17.075 Catalog 
 

• Adds that institutions must disclose the cost for any testing and licensure requirements.   
 

20 AAC 17.090 Supervisors and instructors 

• Adds that there must be a supervisor responsible for the operation of the online education 
learning management system, if applicable. 

• Adds that instructors must be competent in the use of any online education learning 
management system.  
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20 AAC 17.095. Facilities and equipment 

• Adds new requirement for institution must have adequate technology and infrastructure to 
support management, operations academic programs and support services. ACPE may 
request a demonstration.  
 

20 AAC 17.102  Financial soundness (new section) 
 

• New location for some information from 20 AAC 17.045 (bonding requirements) and 20 
AAC 17.060 (general operating standards) to add clarity and streamline processes.  

o Defines financial soundness 
o Lists requirements for institutions that do not meet criteria for financial soundness  
o Lists conditions for which ACPE will accept unaudited financial statements 
o Lists documents that must be included with financial statements 

• Adds that an applicant for initial authorization, who has not yet begun operations, may 
submit a business plan with market analysis, a budget, and documentation of working 
capital sufficient for a minimum of one year of operation, as supported by budget 
projections, as evidence of financial soundness.  

• Lists documentation requirements for annual financial reporting. 
 
20 AAC 17.110  Records 
 

• Creates data subcategories to organize the section:  demographics, academic records, 
attendance records, financial records, and other records.   

• Adds requirement for institutions, upon closure, to provide ACPE with student transcripts 
in an electronic form. 

 
20 AAC 17.115.  Tuition and refund policy 
 

• Increases non-refundable application fee from $75.00 to $100.00. 
 

ARTICLE 2.  AUTHORIZATION TO OPERATE AS A UNIVERSITY, COLLEGE, JUNIOR COLLEGE, 
COMMUNITY COLLEGE, OR CAREER COLLEGE   
 

Explanation of changes:  Regulations in Article 2 require institutions to comply with national 
accreditor requirements that may not mirror those of their accrediting body.  This can make it 
difficult for the institution to comply with our requirements and those of their accreditor.  
Changes in this section require accredited institutions to comply with their specific accreditor 
standards in order to be authorized to operate.  

 
20 AAC 17.205.  Use of the terms university or college 
 

• Updates regulatory reference. 
 
 



 

 
Chapter 17 Regulation Sectional Analysis 

Revised: 6/8/21  
Page 5 of 5 

 

20 AAC 17.210  General guidance for degree program criteria 
 

• Removes references to specific accrediting organizations.   
• Adds that guidelines regarding degrees may also be from the accrediting body of the 

institution.  
 

20 AAC 17.225   Requirements for degrees and degree programs   
 

• Adds a degree program shall adhere to the standards of the accreditor. 
• Removes content relating to standards of degree programs and when institutions may award 

an undergraduate degree. Institution to comply with our requirements and those of the 
accrediting body.   

• Adds that online or distance delivered programs must meet the requirements of campus-based 
programs.  

 
20 AAC 17.230 Financial and record keeping standard 
 

• Removes reference to complying with Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities 
(NWCCU) and adds that institutions must be compliant with accreditor requirements. 

• Amends guidance document to reference the most current version. 
 
20 AAC 17.235 Learning resource program 
 

• Amends information to require that an institution comply with accreditor’s standards. Removes 
all other standards and information relating to cooperative agreements.  
 

20 AAC 17.245 Faculty standards 

• Amends information to require that an institution comply with accreditor’s standards. Removes 
all other standards.  
 

20 AAC 17.255. Reporting  (new section) 

• Adds a requirement for institutions to report determinations, decisions, or actions of the 
accrediting body, affecting the institution, to the commission within 30 days.  
 

ARTICLE 3.  GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
20 AC 17.900 Definitions 
• Alphabetizes definitions. 
• Adds definitions for Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS). 

 
20 AAC 17.910 Access to institutional authorization files  

• Removes fees for photocopying will be in accordance with the annually approved commission 
fee schedule.  Remove reference to charge of $.20 per page. 


	0.) Agenda 08.26.2021
	1.) Revisions to IA Process and Fees
	REVISIONS TO THE INSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION PROCESS AND FEES
	WELCOME
	INSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION LAW�
	INSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION HISTORY
	PROPOSED CHANGES
	ANNUAL REPORTING/RENEWAL
	FEES
	NEW PROPOSAL – FEES
	FEE COMPARISON
	OTHER STATES COMPARISON
	RENEWAL COST COMPARISON
	STUDENT OUTCOME DATA 
	NEW ANNUAL REPORT
	OTHER REGULATIONS REVISIONS
	NEXT STEPS
	IA REGULATION REVIEW

	2.) Sectional Analysis

