Exemption from Authorization

Certain educational providers may be exempt from some or all authorization regulations. Exemptions are not automatic and are determined based on the documentation provided. Exemptions may be available to education providers offering programs:

  • offered solely by and for a professional organization’s members
  • do not offer educational credentials and are proceeded at cost
  • regulated by another state agency using appropriate standards
  • no more than 80 hours and 10 days in duration
  • offered by an accredited institution that is based and authorized in another state
  • non-degree programs offered by and for the membership of a bona fide religious organization
  • a flight-training course that maintains current certification under 14 C.F.R. Part 141 or Part 142; or
  • an on-line or distance delivered program that does not have a physical presence within the state

Educational providers must submit an application to ACPE, pay a $100 application fee and include specimen copies of each certificate or diploma issued. Find out how to apply for an Exemption from the Institutional Authorization process. 

A W-9 form is available for providers needing the State of Alaska’s taxpayer identification number in order to issue the $100 application fee.

Renewal of Exemption

The exemption from Authorization must be renewed biennially. There is no fee for renewal. To renew, complete and submit the Recertification for Exemption from Institutional Authorization.

Distance Education

Out-of-state institutions with no physical presence in Alaska may be recognized in an exempt status by applying for exemption from authorization to operate a postsecondary institution in Alaska. Physical presence in Alaska means the presence of a facility, equipment, faculty or staff within the state.

A distance education or online program exempt from authorization requirements must include a conspicuous statement on the institution’s marketing in the state indicating that the program is exempt from authorization under AS 14.48 and 20 AAC 17.015 because the program is online or distance delivered and does not have a physical presence in the state.  To apply for exemption, complete and submit the Application for Exemption from Authorization along with the $100 application fee.

A W-9 form is available for providers needing the State of Alaska’s taxpayer identification number in order to issue the $100 application fee.

To renew an existing exemption, complete and submit the Recertification for Exemption from Institutional Authorization. There is no fee for renewal.

It is an institution’s responsibility to ensure it is fully aware of all applicable Alaska statutes and regulations and any associated compliance requirements relative to exemption from authorization. If you would like additional information please e-mail EED.ACPE-IA@alaska.gov.