
 

Features  Loan Maximums 
 

 No origination fees 

 5.75% (5.48% APR) fixed interest rate 

 Rates as low as 5.25% in school and 5.00% in 
repayment with borrower benefits 

 0.25% automatic payment interest reduction 

 No payments due while attending school at least 
half time 

 Serviced in Alaska by Alaskans 

Note: The rates and benefits listed above are variable, meaning that a new 
benefit package, if any, must be approved by the Alaska Student Loan 
Corporation each program year. Borrowers who do not maintain a current 
repayment status may forfeit some or all benefits. The above rates and 
benefits are for the 2017/2018 academic year. 

  

Undergraduate Students: 

 On-time enrollment - up to $14,000 

 Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500 

 Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500 

Graduate Students: 

 Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000 

 Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500 

Career & Technical Education Programs: 

 Certificate - up to $10,000 

 Flight Program - up to $10,000 

 

Instructions 

Here Is What You Will Need to Apply: 

 Social Security Number (SSN)  

 School information 

 Financial aid information such as your cost of attendance  

 Two references, one of which must be a family member 

Next Steps: 

 Complete and sign your application in ink. Make a copy for your records and mail the original application and 

applicant self-certification (pages 4-6) to ACPE at the address listed above. 

 We will review your application for completeness and contact your school to confirm your enrollment. 

 If approved, we will send you a Loan Approval Disclosure (LAD) to the address on your application. 

 You must accept the LAD before funds can be sent to your school. The quickest way to review and accept the 

LAD is to login to your ACPE online account. 

 Loan funds will be available at your school approximately 10 days from the date you accept the LAD, unless 

your school has specified alternate disbursement dates. 

Did you know, by applying at acpe.alaska.gov, you can submit this application online and be pre-approved 
for a loan in as little as 15 minutes! 

 

 

ALASKA SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATION LOAN (ASEL) 
2017/2018 APPLICATION AND PROMISSORY NOTE 

 

https://acpe.alaska.gov/


 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements 
In order to qualify for this loan, you must: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and 

a) an Alaska resident, or  
b) a student physically present in Alaska and attending an Alaska 

institution; 
2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution; 
3. be enrolled at least half-time in a career vocational-technical 

program or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree program; 
4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the 

institution you attend; 
5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan, 

and within the preceding five years not have had an education loan 

written off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy;  
6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 
7. not have a status at the time of application for a loan, or 

disbursement of the funds, that would prevent you from repaying 

the loan as it becomes due; 
8. have complied with any applicable military selective service 

registration requirements under the Military Selective Service Act; 

and 
9. meet all other requirements under AS 14.43.125.  

B. Credit Assessment/Eligibility Checks: 
ACPE will review your credit history, and your Social Security Number 

will be matched against the Alaska Department of Revenue, Child 

Support Enforcement Division’s database, and other required databases, 

to ensure you are eligible. To qualify for the ASEL, you must have a 

FICO credit score of at least 680. If you do not qualify, you will be 

informed in writing of the reason for the denial and given an opportunity 

to add a cosigner to your application. 

C. Interest: 
The ASEL has a fixed interest rate of 5.75%. Interest begins to accrue 

when funds are sent to your school. Interest accrues during in-school, 

repayment, deferment, and forbearance periods. Accrued and unpaid 

interest is capitalized (added to the principal balance) at various times. 

Generally, interest is capitalized any time your loan changes from a non-

repayment status, such as grace or deferment periods, to a repayment 

status. Payments are applied first to accrued interest, then to the 

principal balance. 

D. Fees:  
ACPE charges no origination fees. If your loan becomes past due in 

payment, you may be responsible for late fees, collection agency fees, 

and/or legal fees. 

 

E. Annual Percentage Rate (APR): 
The APR is the yearly cost of borrowing money, shown as a percent of 

the amount you borrowed. The APR is calculated based on the loan’s 

unpaid interest, principal balance and the remaining months to repay. 

For this reason, the APR may be different from the interest rate that is 

being charged on your loan balance. 
 

This Table Represents Estimated Rates Interest Rate APR 

Principal Loan Amount $10,000         5.75% 5.48% 

The APR in this example is based on a freshman borrower and assumes four years until 

graduation, a principal loan amount of $10,000, a repayment term of 10 years, and no 

origination fee. 

 

Federal law requires all lenders to provide this information about 

important credit protections available to members of the Armed 

Forces and their dependents. In general, the cost of consumer credit to 

a member of the Armed Forces and his or her dependent may not exceed 

an annual percentage rate of 36 percent. This rate must include, as 

applicable to the credit transaction or account: The costs associated with 

credit insurance premiums; fees for ancillary products sold in connection 

with the credit transaction; any application fee charged (other than 

certain application fees for specified credit transactions or accounts); and 

any participation fee charged. To receive this information verbally, 

contact us at 800-441-2962. 

 

IMPORTANT 
Before borrowing, always use grants, scholarships, and other funds 

that do not have to be repaid. This is not a federal loan and does not 

have the same repayment options. 

Failure to timely repay this loan may result in, but is not limited to: 

• adverse reports to consumer reporting agencies 

• additional costs to you for collection and  
accrued interest 

• forfeiture of deferment rights 

• seizure of your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend 

• denial of renewal of Alaska occupational or professional 
license 

• administrative wage garnishment 

• lien on property 

• a judgment in a court of law and/or legal or collection 
action 

REMEMBER—Under current loan terms, after four years of 

borrowing as an undergraduate, monthly payments can be as much 

as $500 or even greater at graduate loan maximums. 

 Alaska Supplemental Education Loan (ASEL) 

2017/2018 Application and Promissory Note 

Loan Terms and Conditions 

The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) services the education loans owned by the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC). 
Loans made under this application are governed by Alaska law including Alaska Statutes 14.43.170 - 175 and Alaska Regulations 20 AAC 15.700–795 and 

20 AAC 15.910-15.990, as amended from time to time.  
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F. Cosigner: 
An eligible cosigner is required if you are under 17 years of age, do not 

meet the credit requirements, or have defaulted on a prior education loan 

with ACPE. If you elect to add a cosigner, that person will be 

responsible for the loan even in the event you meet the credit conditions 

independently. ACPE will notify the cosigner of periods of delinquency, 

deferments granted, or any repayment agreement that will change the 

amount due on the loan. 

G. Disbursement of Loan Funds: 
ACPE will send funds to your school’s financial aid office.  Your loan 

will be disbursed in equal installments based on the start date of your 

school’s academic terms and your enrollment period.  

H. Allowable Uses of Loan Funds: 
If you are enrolled on-time or full-time, this loan may be used for tuition 

and program-related costs; room and board (living expenses); books; 

supplies; and allowance for transportation, based on your school’s 

published budget. 

If you are enrolled less than full-time, this loan may be used only for 

tuition and fees; books; supplies; and equipment costs, not room and 

board. 

I. Enrollment Intensity: 
Your enrollment intensity refers to whether you attend on-time, full-

time, or half-time, as defined by your school. Your school’s financial aid 

office is required to certify your enrollment intensity, and the loan 

amount is based on your enrollment intensity. 

On-time Attendance: 

An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of fifteen (15) 

semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term. 

Full-time Attendance: 
a) An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of twelve (12) 

semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term; 
b) A graduate student enrolled in a minimum of nine (9) semester 

credit hours or equivalent per academic term; or 
c) A student enrolled in a career education program of at least thirty-

(30) clock hours per week for a minimum of six (6) weeks. 

Half-time Attendance: 

a) An undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in a minimum of six 

(6) semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term. 

b) A student enrolled in a career education program of at least fifteen 

(15) clock hours per week for a minimum of twelve (12) weeks. 

Flight School: 
A student enrolled in a flight school program must log a minimum of 17 

hours per month or 51 hours for a three-month period.   

J. Loan Maximums: 
You may receive up to the amount of your annual eligibility, as certified 

by your school, subject the loan maximums described below.  

Note: The loan amount may be different from the amount disbursed, due to 

changes in your eligibility, enrollment or academic standing. Financial aid 

staff are not agents of ACPE and have no authority to change the terms and 

conditions of this Promissory Note. 

Undergraduate Students: 

• On-time enrollment - up to $14,000 
• Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500 
• Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500 

Graduate Students: 

• Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000 
• Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500 

Career, Technical Education and Flight Programs: 
Up to $10,000.  

Cumulative Loan Maximums:  
• Undergraduate study (including career/technical/flight) - $56,000 
• Graduate study - $60,000 
• Combined total - $87,000 

Cumulative maximums include any prior ACPE loans paid-in-full and 

outstanding Alaska Supplemental Education Loans, Memorial 

Education Loans and Teacher Education Loans. 

K. Repayment: 
A repayment schedule will be established when you drop below a half-

time enrollment status, withdraw from school or graduate, whichever is 

sooner. Generally, you must repay the loan in monthly installments of at 

least $50 per month for up to 10 years. Payments can be as much as 

$500 or greater depending on the total amount borrowed. The repayment 

term may be extended in qualifying situations, which also increases the 

total amount to repay. 

Grace Period: 
You will automatically receive a one-time, six-month interest-bearing 

grace period before the repayment period begins. The first payment will 

be due no later than 45 days after the last day of the grace period. 

L. Deferment of Repayment: 
This loan includes deferment options during qualifying periods.  Interest 

continues to accrue during deferments. You should consider carefully 

costs and benefits associated with deferments. You may elect to pay the 

interest during deferment to reduce the overall costs of borrowing. 

Defaulting on your loan will result in forfeiture of any deferment 

rights. 

Prior loans from ACPE will be placed into student deferment, if eligible, 

based on notification of qualifying enrollment. Less than full-time 

enrollment may not defer full-time or on-time loans awarded after July 

1, 2015. 

M. Americans With Disabilities Act Compliance: 
Otherwise qualified individuals shall not, based on a disability, be 

discriminated against or excluded from participation in, or the benefits 

of, the services, programs or activities of ACPE. Please notify ACPE if 

you need a disability accommodation. 

N. Information Sharing and Privacy Act Notice: 
Information you provide in this application will be used to verify your 

identity; to determine eligibility; to service the loan; to maintain current 

contact information; and to collect on delinquent or defaulted loans. 

This information may be furnished during the life of the loan to holders 

of this and other ACPE Alaska education loans made to you; to 

postsecondary schools where the borrower is enrolled or is accepted for 

enrollment; to guarantee agencies; to government agencies or private 

parties who may be able to provide information necessary for the 

collection of the loan or to assist in the servicing or collection of the 

loan; or as needed to contractors and other third parties involved in 

servicing the loan.  

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is required as a 

condition for participation in the loan program and as allowed under 

Section 7(a) (2) of the Privacy Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-579). The SSN 

will be used to verify your identity, and although not used as the account 

number, may be used to identify account holders throughout the life of 

the loan.  

ACPE may use your SSN to access state or federal databases and other 

resources to determine your eligibility for administrative action or 

administrative garnishment in cases of default. 

ACPE and any of their contractual servicers, including debt collectors, 

will use all phone numbers, including cell phone numbers you provide, 

in the servicing of this loan.  By providing ACPE or any of its servicers 

with a telephone number, including a cell number, you are giving 

permission for any of these parties to call you on that number, including 

calls placed by automated dialing systems leaving virtual messages. A 

copy of ACPE’s Privacy Policy is available on our website. 
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Borrower Responsibilities and Agreements 

 You must meet all eligibility requirements listed under section A: 

Eligibility Requirements, to qualify for this loan. 

 You must use any ACPE funds solely for the expenses listed under 

section H: Allowable Uses of Loan Funds.  

 You must report to ACPE any change that affects the conditions of 

this loan within 30 days, including any: 

a) change of name, address, or telephone number; 

b) change of institution, dates of attendance, or enrollment status; 

c) failure to enroll at the school for the period for which the loan 

was obtained; 

d) graduation, withdrawal, or dismissal from the course of study 

for which the loan was awarded; 

e) inability to make payments as scheduled; or 

f) bankruptcy proceedings that are commenced by or against you 

(Note: notification must occur within 20 days after the petition 

is filed.). 

 You authorize the release of information pertinent to your loans:  

1) by the school or ACPE to the references or cosigner on your loan 

application, or to members of your immediate family unless you 

submit written direction otherwise; and  

2) by and among your schools, ACPE and loan servicing 

contractors or resource providers, the U.S. Department of 

Education and the State of Alaska. You further authorize the 

references provided or any educational institution you may 

attend to release to ACPE, or subsequent holder or their agents, 

any requested information pertinent to this loan or to assist in its 

collection. 

 You must repay the loan in accordance with the repayment 

schedule established by ACPE; however, you have the option to 

request a shorter repayment schedule at any time. 

 You understand you must fulfill your obligations on this loan, and 

if you default, ACPE may declare the entire unpaid amount of the 

loan, including interest and fees, immediately due and payable. 

Any of the following conditions could result in your default status: 

 acceptance of funds for which you are not eligible; 

 a loan payment becomes 180 or more days past due; 

 falsification of any information in connection with this loan, 

whether by omission or commission; 

 failure to notify ACPE within 30 days after any change that 

affects the conditions of a loan or its repayment schedule, 

including any change of name, address, telephone number; or 

 failure to maintain Alaska legal residency or Alaska institution 

enrollment while borrowing under this program, as applicable. 

 You understand if you default on this loan, ACPE may garnish 

your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend or prevent renewal of an 

Alaska occupational license held by you. ACPE may transfer your 

loan to a collection agency, garnish your wages or other assets, and 

place a lien on your assets in order to collect this debt. 

 Information concerning the amount of this loan and its status will 

be reported to nationwide consumer reporting agencies upon initial 

disbursement. Defaulting on this loan will also be reported to the 

consumer reporting agencies and will result in forfeiture of any 

deferment rights. 

 By signing this promissory note, you certify: 

1) You are not delinquent, nor have you ever been in default, on 

an education loan, nor had such a loan written off for any 

reason, except bankruptcy, within the past five years; 

2) You are not past due in paying an established child support 

obligation; 

3) You do not have a status that would prevent you from 

repaying this loan as it becomes due, including any conditions 

that prevent future employment; 

4) You have not defaulted on any consumer loan;  

5) You are a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen; and 

6) You are an Alaska resident or attending an Alaska institution 

as defined under section A of the Loan Terms and Conditions.
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BORROWER INFORMATION     

Last Name:                                                                                  First Name:  Social Security Number:   

Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street):                                                                                           City:                                  State:                        Zip:  

Email Address:  Telephone Number:  (         )           -  

Date of Birth:   Gender:            Male              Female Driver’s License State:                    # 

SCHOOL INFORMATION  SCHOOL CODE (ACPE use only):  

School Name & Location (State):  

Enrollment Intensity (See definition under section I of the Loan Terms & Conditions):          On-time      Full-time          Half-time 

Field of Study/Program Title:  

Academic Start and End Dates:           To   Tuition Type:      Resident           Non-Resident     No Differential      WUE 

Grade Level:  Indicate whether you will be an undergraduate, graduate, career/technical or flight student for the academic period and your class standing. 

Undergraduate:        Freshman      Sophomore  Junior        Senior Graduate (Year):    1          2          3          4     Career/Tech       Flight 

REFERENCES  

Provide two separate references with different U.S. addresses. Your references should be someone with whom you expect to remain in regular contact. Your 

references will be contacted if we need to verify or update your contact information. 

Reference 1

  

Name: 

Mailing Address: 

Telephone: 

Relationship: 

City, State, Zip: 

Email: 

Reference 2

  
Name: 

Mailing Address: 

Telephone: 

Relationship: 

City, State, Zip: 

Email: 

PROMISE TO PAY  

THIS IS A LOAN THAT MUST BE REPAID 

I PROMISE TO PAY to the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education the loan amount advanced plus interest and fees. I understand that this is a Note for a loan 

I am required to repay. I have read, understood, and will abide by all terms and conditions set forth in this Promissory Note and I have retained a copy of this packet for 

my records.  

By signing, I certify under penalty of perjury that all information I have provided in support of this application is true to the best of my knowledge. I further certify that 

I meet all eligibility requirements and that I do not have a status that would prevent me from repaying this loan as it becomes due, including any conditions that prevent 

future employment. I agree that any stray marks or notations made to this Promissory Note in places other than fields requiring applicant completion will not become 

part of this agreement. Note: A person who makes a false certification has committed a criminal offense. 

Signature of Borrower (In Ink):  ___________________________________________________________ Date: ______________________ 

Sign, date, and return this page along with the Private Education Loan Applicant Self-Certification form to ACPE, at address listed above. 

Alaska Supplemental Education Loan (ASEL) 

2017/2018 Application and Promissory Note 
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________________________________________________________________________________________________  
Important:  Pursuant to Section 155 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, (HEA) and to satisfy the requirements of Section 128(e)(3) of the Truth in 
Lending Act, a lender must obtain a self-certification signed by the applicant before disbursing a private education loan. The school is required on request to provide 
this form or the required information only for students admitted or enrolled at the school. Throughout this Applicant Self-Certification, “you” and “your” refer to the 
applicant who is applying for the loan. The applicant and the student may be the same person.  

 
Instructions:  Before signing, carefully read the entire form, including the definitions and other information on the following page. Submit the signed form 
to your lender.       

SECTION 1:  NOTICES TO APPLICANT   

 Free or lower-cost Title IV federal, state, or school student financial aid may be available in place of, or in addition to, a private 
education loan. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans and work-study, submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) available at www.fafsa.ed.gov, or by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 

 A private education loan may reduce eligibility for free or lower-cost federal, state, or school student financial aid.  

 You are strongly encouraged to pursue the availability of free or lower-cost financial aid with the school’s financial aid office.  

 The financial information required to complete this form can be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. If the lender has 
provided this information, you should contact your school’s financial aid office to verify this information and to discuss your 
financing options.  

 

SECTION 2: COST OF ATTENDANCE AND ESTIMATED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE  

If information is not already entered below, obtain the needed information from the school’s financial aid office and enter it on the appropriate line. Sign 
and date where indicated.  See Section 5 for definitions of financial aid terms. 

 

A. Student’s cost of attendance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan   $____________________ 

B. Estimated financial assistance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan  $____________________ 

C. Difference between amounts A and B   

 WARNING: If you borrow more than the amount on line C, you risk reducing your eligibility for 
free or lower-cost federal, state, or school financial aid.    

$____________________ 

SECTION 3: APPLICANT INFORMATION    

Enter or correct the information below.               

 

Full Name and Address of School ________________________________________________________________________________________________________      

 

Applicant Name (last, first, MI) ___________________________________________________      Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 

 

Permanent Street Address __________________________________________________________________     

 

City, State, Zip Code __________________________________________________________________ ____________________        

 

Area Code / Telephone Number   Home (          ) ____________________________        Other (          ) ____________________________        

 E-mail Address________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Period of Enrollment Covered by the Loan (mm/dd/yyyy)        From _____ / _____ / _______ to _____ / _____ / _______                                      

 

If the student is not the applicant, provide the student’s name and date of birth.      

 

Student Name (last, first, MI) ____________________________________________________      Student Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 
 

SECTION 4: APPLICANT SIGNATURE   

 

I certify that I have read and understood the notices in Section 1 and, that to the best of my knowledge, the information provided on this form is true and correct.   

 

Signature of Applicant ____________________________________________________________________   Date (mm/dd/yyyy) _______________________      

OMB No. 1845-0101 
Form Approved 
Exp. Date 07-31-2019 

Private Education Loan  
Applicant Self-Certification  
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SECTION 5: DEFINITIONS 

 

Cost of attendance is an estimate of tuition and fees, room and board, transportation, and other costs for the period of enrollment covered by the loan, as 
determined by the school. A student’s cost of attendance may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 

 

Estimated financial assistance is all federal, state, institutional (school), private, and other sources of assistance used in determining eligibility for most Title IV 
student financial aid, including amounts of financial assistance used to replace the expected family contribution. The student’s estimated financial assistance is 
determined by the school and may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 

 

A lender is a private education lender as defined in Section 140 of the Truth in Lending Act and any other person engaged in the business of securing, making, or 
extending private education loans on behalf of the lender. 

 

A period of enrollment is the academic year, academic term (such as semester, trimester, or quarter), or the number of weeks of instructional time for which the 
applicant is requesting the loan.     

 

A private education loan is a loan provided by a private education lender that is not a Title IV loan and that is issued expressly for postsecondary education 
expenses, regardless of whether the loan is provided through the school that the student attends or directly to the borrower from the private education lender. A 
private education loan does not include (1) An extension of credit under an open-end consumer credit plan, a reverse mortgage transaction, a residential mortgage 
transaction, or any other loan that is secured by real property or a dwelling; or (2) An extension of credit in which the school is the lender if the term of the extension 
of credit is 90 days or less or an interest rate will not be applied to the credit balance and the term of the extension of credit is one year or less, even if the credit is 
payable in more than four installments. 

 

Title IV student financial aid includes the Federal Pell Grant Program, the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program, the Federal 
Work-Study (FWS) Program, the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program, the Federal Perkins Loan Program, and the Teacher Education 
Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans, and work-study, submit a Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), which is available at www.fafsa.gov, by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 

 

SECTION 6: PAPERWORK REDUCTION NOTICE  

 

Paperwork Reduction Notice: According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it 
displays a currently valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 1845-0101. The time required to complete this 
information collection is estimated to average 0.25 hours (15 minutes) per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather 
and maintain the data needed and complete and review the information collection. 

 If you have any comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to:  U.S. Department of 
Education, Washington, DC 20202-4651     

If you have any comments or concerns regarding the status of your individual submission of this form, contact your lender.   
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Alaska Student Loan Corporation  
P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, AK  99811-0505  
 

 
Loan Interest Rate & Fees 

 
Your Starting Interest Rate (upon approval)  
The interest rate is set based on a rate floor of not less than the 
weighted average true interest cost of the Alaska Student Loan 
Corporation’s (ASLC) outstanding fixed-rate debt obligation plus 
the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education’s (ACPE) 
and ASLC’s most recent five-year average cost of administering 
the state education loan program.  

Your Interest Rate during the life of the loan       
Your rate is fixed. This means that your rate remains the same 
over the life of the loan. For more information on this rate, see the    
reference notes. 

Loan Fees  
Origination Fee:  No origination fee is charged.   
Late Fees:  A late fee of up to $15 may be charged for loan payments 30 days or more past due.    
Collection Costs:  In the case of default, reasonable collection agency fees and/or collection and legal costs will be charged 
up to the total cost of debt collection. 

Loan Cost Examples  

The total amount you will pay for this loan will vary depending upon when you start to repay it.  This example provides 
estimates based upon three repayment options available to you while enrolled in school. 

Repayment Option  
(while enrolled in school) 

Amount Provided  
(amount provided 
directly to you or your 
school) 

Interest Rate 

(highest possible 
starting rate) 

Loan Term  
(how long you have 
to pay off the loan) 

Total Paid 
over 10 years 
(includes 
associated fees) 
 

1. DEFER PAYMENTS 
Make no payments while enrolled in 
school and grace period. Interest will 
be charged and added to your loan 

$10,000  5.75% 10 years 

Repayment 
begins after the 
grace period 

$16,241.03 

2. PAY ONLY THE INTEREST 
Make Interest payments but defer 
payment on the principal amount 
while enrolled in school and during 
grace period. Payments begin after 
first disbursement 

$10,000  5.75% 10 years 

Repayment 
begins after the 
grace period 

$15,507.11 

3. MAKE FULL PAYMENTS 
Pay both the principal and interest 
amounts while enrolled in school and 
during grace period. Payments begin 
after first disbursement 

$10,000  5.75% 10 years 

Repayment 
begins after the 
grace period 

$13,955.06 

About this example  
The repayment examples assume you remain in school for four years, have a six-month grace period before beginning 
repayment, and a loan amount of $10,000. The repayment periods are 10 years, and are based on the current interest rate 
for this program year.   

 

Your interest rate will be 

  

5.75%  

  

After the starting rate is set, your rate will 

remain the same over the life of the loan  

Toll Free 800-441-2962  
In Juneau 465-2962  

TTY 907-465-3143  
www.acpe.alaska.gov 
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Federal Loan Alternatives 

Loan Program Current Interest Rates by Program Type 

PERKINS 
for Students 

5.00% fixed 

STAFFORD 
for Students 

4.45% fixed Undergraduate subsidized & 
unsubsidized 

6.00% fixed Graduate unsubsidized 

PLUS  
for Parents and 
Graduate/Professional 
Students 

7.00% fixed  

Next Steps  

1. Find Out About Other Loan Options.  
Some schools have school-specific student loan benefits and terms not detailed on this form.   
Contact your school’s financial aid office or visit the Department of Education’s website at:  
www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov for more information about other loans.  

2. To Apply for this Loan, Complete the Application and the Self-Certification Form.  
You may get the certification form from your school’s financial aid office.  If you are approved for this 
loan, the loan terms will be available for 30 days (terms will not change during this period, except as 
permitted by law).  

REFERENCE NOTES 

Fixed Interest Rate  
The interest rate is set based on a rate floor of not less than the 
weighted average true interest cost of the Alaska Student Loan 
Corporation’s (ASLC) outstanding fixed-rate debt obligation plus 
the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education’s (ACPE) 
and ASLC’s most recent five-year average cost of administering 
the state education loan program. 

  
Bankruptcy Limitations  
If you file for bankruptcy you may still be required to pay back 
this loan.    

  

  

  

  

   

  

  

  
 

More information about loan eligibility and repayment 

deferral or forbearance options is available in your 

loan application and loan agreement.    

Eligibility Criteria  
In order to qualify for this loan, you must:  

1. be a U.S. Citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and  

a. an Alaska resident, or  

b. a student physically present in Alaska and attending an 
Alaska institution;  

2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution;  

3. be enrolled at least half-time in a career vocational-technical 
program or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree 
program;  

4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the 
institution you attend;  

5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education 
loan, and within the preceding five years not have had an 
education loan written off for any reason except for discharge 
in bankruptcy;  

6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 

7. not have a status at the time of application for a loan or 
disbursement of the funds, that would prevent you from 
repaying the loan as it becomes due;  

8. have a FICO credit score of at least 680 or have a credit 

worthy cosigner; 

9. have complied with any applicable military selective service 

registration requirements under the Military Selective Service 

Act; and 

10. meet all other requirements under AS 14.43.125.   

 

You may qualify for a Federal 

education loan. 

For additional information, contact 
your school’s financial aid office or 
the Department of Education at: 
 

www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov 

ASEL 17/18  PN 8 of 8

http://www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov/
http://www.federalstudentaid.ed.gov/

	BorrowerLastName: 
	BorrowerFirstName: 
	BorrowerSSN: 
	BorrowerAddressStreet: 
	BorrowerAddressCity: 
	BorrowerAddressState: 
	BorrowerAddressZipCode: 
	BorrowerEmail: 
	BorrowerHomePhone_1_3: 
	BorrowerHomePhone_4_6: 
	BorrowerHomePhone_7_10: 
	BorrowerDOB: 
	Gender: Off
	BorrowerDriversLicenseState: 
	BorrowerDriversLicense: 
	SchoolCode: 
	CollegeInfo: 
	EnrollmentIntensity: Off
	Major_VocationalCourseTitle: 
	FromDate: 
	ToDate: 
	TuitionType: Off
	GradeLevel: Off
	BorrowerReference1Name: 
	BorrowerReference1RelToBorrower: 
	BorrowerReference1Address: 
	BorrowerReference1CityStateZip: 
	BorrowerReference1EveningPhone: 
	BorrowerReference1Email: 
	BorrowerReference2Name: 
	BorrowerReference2RelToBorrower: 
	BorrowerReference2Address: 
	BorrowerReference2CityStateZip: 
	BorrowerReference2EveningPhone: 
	BorrowerReference2Email: 
	CLUID_BCF: 
	BCFCostOfAttendance: 
	BCFEstimatedFinancialAssistance: 
	BCFEstimatedCostDifference: 
	BCFSchoolName: 
	BCFBorrowerLastFirstMI: 
	BCFBorrowerDOBMonth: 
	BCFBorrowerDOBDay: 
	BCFBorrowerDOBYear: 
	BCFBorrowerStreetAddress: 
	BCFBorrowerCityState: 
	BCFBorrowerZipCode: 
	BCFBorrowerHomePhone1_3: 
	BCFBorrowerHomePhone4_10: 
	BCFBorrowerOtherPhone1_3: 
	BCFBorrowerOtherPhone4_10: 
	BCFBorrowerEmail: 
	BCFLoanStartDateMonth: 
	BCFLoanStartDateDay: 
	BCFLoanStartDateYear: 
	BCFLoanEndDateMonth: 
	BCFLoanEndDateDay: 
	BCFLoanEndDateYear: 
	BCFStudentLastFirstMI: 
	BCFStudentDOBMonth: 
	BCFStudentDOBDay: 
	BCFStudentDOBYear: 
	CLUID33: 


