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Calculating College Tuition Costs
Let’s say you are in college, working on earning a bachelor’s degree that will require  

you to take 120 credits. Your college charges $234 per credit for tuition.

1.	How much would tuition cost you? 

	 ________________________________________________________________________________

2.	How much is that tuition per year, assuming it took you four years to finish? 

	 ________________________________________________________________________________

3.	If you earn the top Alaska Performance Scholarship award ($7,000 per year) and use it to pay       
      tuition, what amount of your annual tuition costs would be left over to be paid from  
	 other sources? 

	 ________________________________________________________________________________

	 ________________________________________________________________________________

4.	Besides tuition, what might be other costs of attending college? 

	 ________________________________________________________________________________

	 ________________________________________________________________________________

The Alaska Performance Scholarship 
Did you know there’s a scholarship for Alaska students?  
The Alaska Performance Scholarship can help YOU pay for college or career 
training in Alaska!

n  Challenge yourself with the classes you choose in high school! There are 
multiple curriculum options available to qualify for the APS.  
Learn more about these options at https://acpe.alaska.gov/aps.

n  In addittion to taking specific classes in high school, students qualify for the APS by earning a 
certain grade point average (GPA) OR by taking the SAT, ACT, or WorkKeys. 

n GPA is an average of the grades you earn for all classes. Usually, you get 4 points for an A, 
3 points for a B, 2 points for a C, and 1 point for a D. If your high school GPA is at least a 2.5, 
you meet one requirement option for the APS – earn a higher GPA, and your scholarship award 
amount will increase.  
 
n Take the SAT or ACT college entrance exams or WorkKeys career training assessment. 
Earning a qualifying score on one of these tests is another way to become APS eligible.



High School Graduation Requirements*

The state requires public school students to complete a minimum of 21 units of credit in order to graduate 
from high school. The state specifies 13 of those required units of credit. The recommended units will bet-
ter help prepare students for scholarships and postsecondary education opportunities. 

Language Arts Recommended units: 4 
Required units: 4 
Courses may include: composition, speech and debate, creative 
writing, American or world literature.

Math Recommended units: 4
Required units: 3 Courses may include: algebra I & II, geometry, 
calculus, statistics, trigonometry. 

Social Studies Units Recommended units: 4 
Required units: 3, including 0.5 units in Alaska history
Courses may include: American or world history, geography, 
economics, government/civics, sociology.

Science Units Recommended units: 4
Required units: 2
Courses may include: physical or earth science, biology, 
chemistry, physics

P.E./Health Units Recommended units: 2
Required units: 1

Electives

World Language

Fine Arts

Cultural Heritage

Career & Technical 
Education (CTE)

Required units: 8

Recommended units: 2 in the same world, Alaska Native, or 
American Sign Language

Recomended units: 2

Recomended units: 2

Recommended units: 2 progressively rigorous semesters within a 
single career cluster

TOTAL # Units Required to graduate: 21

*These are the state’s minimum requirements and recommended units for Alaska public high school graduation. It is common
for public school districts to have additional credit requirements for graduation. Private schools determine their own credit
requirements for graduation. Please check with your school guidance counselor to get help planning your course curriculum.
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