Alaska Commission on

Postsecondary Education
Alaska

Commission on P.0. Box 110505
Postse (Ondary Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505
Education Customer Service Center

Toll Free: (800) 441-2962

In Juneau: (907) 465-2962
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973

ALASKA SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATION LOAN (ASEL) Fax: (907) 465-5316

acpe.alaska.gov
2020/2021 APPLICATION AND PROMISSORY NOTE
ENROLLMENT PERIOD: JuLy 1, 2020 — JUNE 30, 2021

Loan Features Loan Maximums

The ASEL has a fixed interest rate for the life of the loan! Undergraduate Students:
e Zero fees . On-tirne enrollment - up to $14,000
o 5.50% (5.25% APR) - 8.50% (7.93% APR) fixed interest * Full-time enrollment - up to 512,500
e Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500

rate

e Additional 0.25% rate discount once you enroll in Graduate Students:
ACPE’s Auto-Pay e Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000

e No payments while attending school at least half-time, * Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500
or lower your overall loan costs by enrolling in Auto- Career & Technical Education Programs:
Pay while in school. You'll receive an interest rate o Certificate - up to $10,000
discount if you make payments of $50+ per loan! e Flight Program - up to $10,000

e Serviced in Alaska by Alaskans

What You Will Need to Apply:
e Social Security Number (SSN)
e School information
e Financial aid information, such as your cost of attendance
e Two references with whom you expect to remain in contact with

Next Steps For You and Us:

1. Complete and sign your application in ink. Make a copy for your records and mail the original application and applicant
self-certification (pages 6-8) to ACPE at the address listed above.

2. We will review your application and contact your school to confirm your enrollment and loan needs. Other factors such
as prior default on ACPE loans or past due child support obligations may impact your eligibility.

3. Contact your school’s Financial Aid Office to ensure you’ve done everything needed to receive financial aid.

4. If approved, we will send you a Loan Approval Disclosure (LAD). Your LAD will include your loan interest rate and
estimated costs of credit. You must review and accept the LAD in order for your loan to be finalized. The quickest way
to review and accept your LAD is through your ACPE online account.

5. Loan funds will be sent to your school approximately 10 days from the date you accept the LAD. Check with your school
to confirm when funds will be available to you.

6. Monitor the status of your loan application through your ACPE online account. If you have any questions email us at
ACPE@alaska.gov or call 800-441-2962 (465-2962 in Juneau).

Did you know, you can submit this application online at ACPE.alaska.gov, and be pre-approved for a loan in as little as 15
minutes?
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Commission on
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Alaska Supplemental Education Loan (ASEL)

Alaska Commission on
Postsecondary Education

P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505

Customer Service Center
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962
In Juneau: (907) 465-2962
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973
Fax: (907) 465-5316
acpe.alaska.gov

2020/2021 Application and Promissory Note

Loan Terms and Conditions
The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) services the education loans owned by the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC).
Loans made under this application are governed by Alaska law including Alaska Statutes 14.43.170 - 175 and Alaska Regulations 20 AAC 15.700-795
and 20 AAC 15.910-15.990, as amended from time to time.

A. Eligibility Requirements:

In order to qualify for this loan, you must:

1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and
a) an Alaska resident, or
b) a student physically present in Alaska and attending an Alaska

institution;

2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution;

3. be enrolled at least half-time in a career vocational-technical program
or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree program;

4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the institution
you attend,

5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan, and
within the preceding five years not have had an education loan written
off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy;

6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation;

7. not have a status at the time of application for a loan, or disbursement
of the funds, that would prevent you from repaying the loan as it
becomes due;

8. have complied with any applicable military selective service
registration requirements under the Military Selective Service Act; and

9. meet all other requirements under AS 14.43.172-173 and 20 AAC
15.705.

B. Credit Assessment/Eligibility Checks:

ACPE will review your credit history, your Social Security Number will
be matched against the Alaska Department of Revenue, Child Support
Services Division’s database, and other required databases, to ensure you
are eligible. To qualify for the ASEL, you must have a FICO credit score
of at least 650 and must not have a credit history that demonstrates a
chronic inability or unwillingness to pay an extension of credit. If you do
not qualify, you will be informed in writing of the reason for the denial
and given an opportunity to add a cosigner to your application.

C. Cosigner:

An eligible cosigner is required if you are under 17 years of age, do not
meet the credit requirements, or have defaulted on a prior education loan
with ACPE. If you elect to add a cosigner, that person will be responsible
for the loan even in the event you meet the credit conditions
independently. ACPE will notify the cosigner of periods of delinquency,
deferments granted, or any repayment agreement that will change the
amount due on the loan. ACPE can collect from your cosigner without
first having to collect from you.

D. Fees:

ACPE charges no origination fee. You may be assessed a late fee of up to
$15 if your payment is 30 days or more past due. In the case of default,
you will be responsible for reasonable collection agency fees and/or
collection and legal costs up to the total cost of collecting the debt you
owe.
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IMPORTANT

Before borrowing, always use grants, scholarships, and other
funds that do not have to be repaid. This is not a federal loan and
does not have the same repayment options.

Failure to timely repay this loan may result in, but is not limited
to:

adverse reports to consumer reporting agencies

additional costs to you for collection and
accrued interest

forfeiture of deferment rights
seizure of your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend
administrative wage garnishment

lien on property

a judgment in a court of law and/or legal or collection
action

REMEMBER—Under current loan terms, after four years of
borrowing as an undergraduate, monthly payments can be as
much as $500 or even greater at graduate loan maximums.

E. Interest:

The ASEL has a fixed interest rate that ranges between 5.50% and
8.50%. The interest rate you pay will be determined when your loan is
approved. The rate will be based upon your credit history (or your
cosigner’s credit, if applicable). If approved, we will notify you of the
rate you qualify for within the stated range. Once your interest rate is set,
it will be fixed for the life of the loan.

Interest begins to accrue when funds are disbursed (sent to your school).
Interest accrues during in-school, repayment, deferment and forbearance
periods. Accrued and unpaid interest is capitalized (added to the principal
balance) at various times. Generally, interest is capitalized any time your
loan changes from a non-repayment status, such as grace or deferment
periods, to a repayment status. Accrued and unpaid interest, late fees, and
collection fees must be satisfied before payments are applied to principal.

Online Auto-Pay Reduction:

You may be eligible to receive a 0.25% interest rate reduction on your
loan by authorizing ACPE to automatically deduct qualifying loan
payments from a checking or savings account during the in-school, grace,
and repayment periods. The reduction will remain in effect as long as
qualifying automatic payments continue without interruption and other
conditions are met.
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Qualifying Conditions:
To qualify for the interest rate reduction, you must set-up recurring
payments that meet the following conditions:

o In-school Period — Payments made during the in-school period must
be a minimum of $50.00 per loan.

e Grace Period — Payments made during the grace period must be a
minimum of $50.00 per loan.

e Repayment Period — Your loan must be current in repayment, and
payments must be a minimum of $5.00.

o Deferment/Forbearance Periods — Payments made during deferment
and forbearance periods must be a minimum of $50.00 per loan.

F. Annual Percentage Rate (APR):

The APR is the yearly cost of borrowing money, shown as a percent of
the amount you borrowed. The APR is calculated based on the interest
that will be charged over the life of the loan, the principal balance at
origination, and the payment schedule, assuming that all payments will
be made on time. The following rates are based on the highest rate
currently charged.

This Table Represents Estimated Rates Interest Rate  APR

Principal Loan Amount $10,000 8.50% 7.93%

The interest rate and APR in this example is based on a freshman borrower. The estimate
assumes four years until graduation, a principal loan amount of $10,000, a repayment
term of 10 years and no origination fee.

Federal law requires all lenders to provide this information about
important credit protections available to members of the Armed
Forces and their dependents. In general, the cost of consumer credit to
a member of the Armed Forces and his or her dependent may not exceed
an annual percentage rate of 36 percent. This rate must include, as
applicable to the credit transaction or account: The costs associated with
credit insurance premiums; fees for ancillary products sold in connection
with the credit transaction; any application fee charged (other than
certain application fees for specified credit transactions or accounts); and
any participation fee charged. If you have any questions as to whether
the Military Lending Act applies to you, or to receive this
information verbally, along with a clear description of your payment
obligation, contact us at 800-441-2962.

G. Disbursement of Loan Funds:

ACPE will send funds to your school’s financial aid office. Your loan
will be disbursed in equal installments based on the start date of your
school’s academic terms and your enrollment period unless your school
designates alternate amounts. The disbursement amount cannot exceed
the total certified loan amount.

H. Allowable Uses of Loan Funds:

If you are enrolled on-time or full-time, this loan may be used for tuition
and program-related costs; room and board (living expenses); books;
supplies; and allowance for transportation, based on your school’s
published budget.

If you are enrolled less than full-time, this loan may be used only for
tuition and fees; books; supplies; and equipment costs, not room and
board.

I. Enrollment Intensity:

Enrollment intensity refers to whether you attend on-time, full-time, or
half-time, as defined by your school. Your school’s financial aid office is
required to certify your enrollment intensity, and the loan amount is
based on your enrollment intensity.

On-time Attendance:
An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of fifteen (15) semester
credit hours or equivalent per academic term.
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Full-time Attendance:

a) An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of twelve (12)
semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term;

b) A graduate student enrolled in a minimum of nine (9) semester credit
hours or equivalent per academic term; or

¢) A student enrolled in a career education program of at least thirty
(30) clock hours per week for a minimum of six (6) weeks.

Half-time Attendance:

a) An undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in a minimum of six
(6) semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term.

b) A student enrolled in a career education program of at least fifteen
(15) clock hours per week for a minimum of twelve (12) weeks.

Flight School:
A student enrolled in a flight school program must log a minimum of 17
hours per month or 51 hours for a three-month period.

J. Loan Maximums:

You may receive up to the amount of your annual eligibility, as certified
by your school, subject the loan maximums described below.

Note: The loan amount may be different from the amount disbursed, due to

changes in your eligibility, enrollment or academic standing. Financial aid
staff are not agents of ACPE and have no authority to change the terms and
conditions of this Promissory Note.

Undergraduate Students:

* On-time enrollment - up to $14,000
* Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500
* Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500

Graduate Students:
* Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000
* Half-time enrollment - up to $7,500

Career, Technical Education and Flight Programs:
» Up to $10,000

Cumulative Loan Maximums:

 Undergraduate study (including career/technical/flight) - $56,000
* Graduate study - $60,000

» Combined total - $87,000

Cumulative maximums include any prior ACPE loans paid-in-full and
outstanding Alaska Supplemental Education Loans, Memorial
Education Loans and Teacher Education Loans.

K. Repayment:

A repayment schedule will be established when you drop below a half-
time enrollment status, withdraw from school or graduate, whichever is
sooner. Generally, you must repay the loan in monthly installments of at
least $50 per month for up to 10 years. Payments can be as much as
$500 or greater depending on the total amount borrowed. The
repayment term may be extended in qualifying situations, which also
increases the total amount to repay. For borrowers who graduate on
time and who do not make payments while in school, the repayment
schedule will be the one set forth in the Final Disclosure.

Grace Period:

You will automatically receive a one-time, six-month interest-bearing
grace period before the repayment period begins. The first payment will
be due no later than 45 days after the last day of the grace period.

Application of Payments:

Payments received will be applied first to any late charges then accrued
interest. Any remaining amount will be applied to the principal balance
of the loan. Payment on a delinquent loan will be applied first to
collection costs (including late fees), then to any outstanding interest
charges, then to the outstanding principal balance of the loan, until
those amounts are paid in full.
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L. Deferment of Repayment:

This loan includes deferment options during qualifying periods. If you
meet certain requirements, you may receive a deferment that allows you
to temporarily stop making payments on your loan. Interest continues to
accrue during deferments. You should consider carefully costs and
benefits associated with deferments. You may elect to pay the interest
during deferment to reduce the overall costs of borrowing. Defaulting
on your loan will result in forfeiture of any deferment rights.

Prior loans from ACPE will be placed into student deferment, if eligible,
based on notification of qualifying enrollment. Less than full-time
enrollment may not defer full-time or on-time loans awarded after July
1,2015.

M. Forbearance:

If you meet certain requirements, you may receive a forbearance that
allows you to temporarily stop making payments on your loan. If you
cannot make your scheduled loan payments, but do not qualify for a
deferment, we may give you a forbearance. Forbearances are provided at
the discretion of the lender and are not an entitlement of the loan.

N. Americans With Disabilities Act Compliance:
Otherwise qualified individuals shall not, based on a disability, be
discriminated against or excluded from participation in, or the benefits
of, the services, programs or activities of ACPE. Please notify ACPE if
you need a disability accommodation.

O. Information Sharing and Privacy Act Notice:
Information you provide in this application will be used to verify your
identity; to determine eligibility; to service the loan; to maintain current
contact information; and to collect on delinquent or defaulted loans. This

information may be furnished during the life of the loan to holders of
this and other ACPE Alaska education loans made to you; to
postsecondary schools where the borrower is enrolled or is accepted for
enrollment; to guarantee agencies; to government agencies or private
parties who may be able to provide information necessary for the
collection of the loan or to assist in the servicing or collection of the
loan; or as needed to contractors and other third parties involved in
servicing the loan.

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is required as a
condition for participation in the loan program and as allowed under
Section 7(a) (2) of the Privacy Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-579). The SSN
will be used to verify your identity, and although not used as the
account number, may be used to identify account holders throughout
the life of the loan.

ACPE may use your SSN to access state or federal databases and other
resources to determine your eligibility for administrative action or
administrative garnishment in cases of default.

ACPE and any of their contractual servicers, including debt collectors,
will use all phone numbers, including cell phone numbers you provide,
in the servicing of this loan. By providing ACPE or any of its servicers
with a telephone number, including a cell number, you are giving
permission for any of these parties to call you on that number,
including calls placed by automated dialing systems leaving recorded
messages, as detailed under the Borrower Responsibilities and
Agreements section below.

A copy of ACPE’s Privacy Policy is available on our website at:
https://acpesecure.alaska.gov/Privacy.

Borrower Responsibilities and Agreements

e NOTICE: Information concerning the amount of this loan and its
status will be reported to nationwide consumer reporting agencies
upon initial disbursement and continue on a regular basis until the
loan is paid in full. Late payments, missed payments, or defaulting
on this loan will also be reported to the consumer reporting agencies
and will result in forfeiture of any deferment rights.

If you believe that any information about your loan that we have
furnished to a consumer reporting agency is inaccurate, or if you
believe that you have been victim of identity theft in connection
with any other education loan made by us, write to us at the
following address:

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505

In your letter (i) provide your name and the loan or account number,
(i1) identify the specific information that is being disputed,

(iii) explain the basis for the dispute and (iv) provide any supporting
documentation you have that substantiates the basis of the dispute.
If you believe that you have been the victim of identity theft, submit
an identity theft affidavit or identity theft report.

e You must meet all eligibility requirements listed under section A:
Eligibility Requirements, to qualify for this loan.

e You must use any ACPE funds solely for the expenses listed under
section H: Allowable Uses of Loan Funds.

e You must report to ACPE any change that affects the conditions of
this loan within 30 days. You understand you waive any objections
based on a lack of notice if you fail to report any of the following
changes:

a) change of name, address, telephone number, or other contact
information;
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b) change of institution, dates of attendance, or enrollment status;

c) failure to enroll at the school for the period for which the loan
was obtained;

d) graduation, withdrawal, or dismissal from the course of study
for which the loan was awarded; or

e) inability to make payments as scheduled.

In the event bankruptcy proceedings are commenced, you must
notify ACPE, in writing, at the address listed below, within 20
days after the petition is filed.

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505

e You authorize the release of information pertinent to your loans:
1) by the school or ACPE to the references or cosigner on your
loan application, or to members of your immediate family
unless you submit written direction otherwise; and

2) by and among your schools, ACPE and loan servicing
contractors or resource providers, the U.S. Department of
Education and the State of Alaska. You further authorize the
references provided or any educational institution you may
attend to release to ACPE, or subsequent holder or their agents,
any requested information pertinent to this loan or to assist in
its collection.

e You authorize ACPE to use automated telephone dialing, text
messaging systems and electronic mail to provide messages to you
about scheduled payments, missed payments and other important
information regarding this Agreement or ACPE’s relationship
with you. The telephone messages may be played by a machine
automatically when the telephone is answered, whether answered
by you or someone else. These messages may also be recorded by
your answering machine.
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You give ACPE permission to call or send a text message to any
telephone number you have given or you give to ACPE in the future,
and to play pre-recorded messages or send text messages with
information about the Agreement over the phone. You also give
permission to communicate such information to you by e-mail. You
understand that, when you receive such calls, texts, or e-mails, you
may incur a charge from the company that provides you with
telecommunications, wireless and/or internet services. You agree that
ACPE will not be liable to you for any fees, inconvenience,
annoyance or loss of privacy in connection with such calls, texts, or
e-mails. You understand that anyone with access to your telephone or
email account may listen to or read the messages, notwithstanding
ACPE’s efforts to communicate only with you. If a telephone
number(s) you have provided to ACPE changes, or if you cease to be
the owner, subscriber or primary user of such telephone number(s),
you agree to immediately give ACPE notice of such facts so that we
may update your records.

You understand and agree that, subject to applicable law, ACPE may
monitor and/or record any of your phone conversations with any of
its representatives for training, quality control, evidentiary, and any
other purposes. However, ACPE is not under any obligation to
monitor, record, retain, or reproduce such recordings, unless required
by applicable law.

To revoke consent to the use of autodialed calls, please contact us at
800-441-2962.

You must repay the loan in accordance with the repayment schedule
established by ACPE; however, there is no penalty for early payoff.

You understand you must fulfill your obligations on this loan, and if

you default, ACPE may declare the entire unpaid amount of the loan,

including interest and fees, immediately due and payable. Any of the
following conditions could result in your default status:

o acceptance of funds for which you are not eligible;

o aloan payment becomes 180 or more days past due;

o falsification of any information in connection with this loan,
whether by omission or commission;

o failure to notify ACPE within 30 days after any change that affects
the conditions of a loan or its repayment schedule, including any
change of name, address, telephone number; or

o failure to maintain Alaska legal residency or Alaska institution
enrollment while borrowing under this program, as applicable.

You understand if you default on this loan, ACPE may garnish your
Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend. ACPE may transfer your loan to a
collection agency, garnish your wages or other assets, and place a
lien on your assets in order to collect this debt.

You understand any communication with ACPE required or
permitted under the Federal Bankruptcy Code must be in writing,
must include your account number, and must be sent to:

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505
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e You understand your responsibility for paying the loan evidenced

by the Note is unaffected by the liability of any other person to you
or to ACPE, or by ACPE’s failure to notify you that a required
payment has not been made. You further understand acceptance by
ACPE of any (a) late payments, (b) partial payments or (c)
payments marked “paid-in-full” or with other restrictions of the
amounts in arrears will not waive or affect any prior demand for
immediate payment of the total balance of this debt. ACPE may
delay or fail to exercise or waive any rights on any occasion without
losing its entitlement to exercise the right at any future time or any
future occasion. ACPE will not be obligated to make any demand
on you, send you any notice, present this Promissory Note to you
for payment or make protest of non-payment to you before suing to
collect on this Note if you are in default, and to the extent permitted
by applicable law, you hereby waive any right you might otherwise
have to require such actions. Except as otherwise provided in this
Note, you waive any right to receive notice of intention to accelerate
the balance of the loan and any right to receive notice of
acceleration. YOU WILL NOT SEND ACPE PAYMENTS
MARKED “PAID-IN-FULL,” “WITHOUT RECOURSE” OR
WITH OTHER SIMILAR LANGUAGE UNLESS THOSE
PAYMENTS ARE MAILED TO THE FOLLOWING
ADDRESS:

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505

You understand that the following notice is only applicable to loans
issued to finance attendance at for-profit educational institutions or
institutions otherwise subject to the FTC Holder Rule under 16
CFR 433.2.

NOTICE: ANY HOLDER OF THIS CONSUMER CREDIT
CONTRACT IS SUBJECT TO ALL CLAIMS AND
DEFENSES WHICH THE DEBTOR COULD ASSERT
AGAINST THE SELLER OF GOODS OR SERVICES
OBTAINED WITH THE PROCEEDS HEREOF. RECOVERY
HEREUNDER BY THE DEBTOR SHALL NOT EXCEED
AMOUNTS PAID BY THE DEBTOR HEREUNDER.

By signing this promissory note, you certify:

1) You are not delinquent, nor have you ever been in default, on an
education loan, nor had such a loan written off for any reason,
except bankruptcy, within the past five years;

2) You are not past due in paying an established child support
obligation;

3) You do not have a status, at the time of application for a loan or
disbursement of loan money, that would prevent you from
repaying this loan as it becomes due;

4) You have not defaulted on another loan made by a lending entity
within the previous five years;

5)You are a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen; and

6) You are an Alaska resident or attending an Alaska institution as
defined under section A of the Loan Terms and Conditions.
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Alaska Commission on

Postsecondary Education
Alaska

Commission on P.O. Box 110505

Postsecondary
Education Customer Service Center
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962
In Juneau: (907) 465-2962

Alaska Supplemental Education Loan (ASEL) T:7zer@eozoesor

Fax: (907) 465-5316

2020/2021 Application and Promissory Note acpe.alaska.gov

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT PROCEDURES FOR OPENING A NEW ACCOUNT
To help the government report the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, Federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and
record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for me: When I apply for a student loan, you will ask for my name,
address, date of birth and other information that will allow you to identify me. You may also ask to see my driver’s license or other identifying documents.

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505

BORROWER INFORMATION Al fields marked with an asterisk are required

Last Name: * First Name: * Middle Initial: _ Social Security Number:*

Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street): * City:* State:* Zip:*
Email Address:* Telephone Number:* ( ) -
Date of Birth:* Gender:* (O Male O Female  Driver’s License or State ID #: State:
SCHOOL INFORMATION A/l fields marked with an asterisk are required SCHOOL CODE (ACPE use only):

School Name & Location (State):*

Enrollment Intensity (See definition under section I of the Loan Terms & Conditions):* OOn-time O Full-time OHalf-time

Academic Dates:* To Tuition Type:* OResident O Non-Resident ONo Differential O Western Undergraduate Exchange

Grade Level:* Indicate whether you will be an undergraduate, graduate, career/technical or flight student for the academic period.

Undergraduate: O Freshman OSophomore O Junior O Senior Graduate (Year): O1 O2 O3 04 QO Career/Tech O Flight

Field of Study/Program Title (Course Title Required for Vocational or Flight Students):*

REFERENCES Al fields marked with an asterisk are required

Provide two separate references with different U.S. addresses.Your references should be individuals with whom you expect to remain in regular contact.Your
references will be contacted if we need to verify or update your contact information.

Reference 1 ~ Name:* Relationship:*
Mailing Address:* City, State, Zip:*
Telephone:* Email:*

Reference 2 Name:* Relationship:*
Mailing Address:* City, State, Zip:*
Telephone:* Email: *

PROMISE TO PAY Al fields marked with an asterisk are required

THIS IS A LOAN THAT MUST BE REPAID

I PROMISE TO PAY to the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education the loan amount advanced plus interest and fees. I understand that this is a Note
for a loan I am required to repay. I have read, understand and will abide by all terms and conditions set forth in this application and Promissory Note, and I
have retained a copy of this packet for my records.

By signing, I certify under penalty of perjury that all information I have provided in support of this application is true to the best of my knowledge. I further
certify that I meet all eligibility requirements and that I do not have a status, at the time of application for a loan or disbursement of loan money, that would
prevent me from repaying the loan as it becomes due. In the event of my disability, any cosigner shall remain obligated for the amount due on the loan;
however, in the event of my death, the loan will be discharged. I agree to be bound by the Borrower Loan Terms and Conditions, the Borrower Responsibilities
and Agreements and the terms of this Promissory Note. I agree that any stray marks or notations made to this Promissory Note in places other than fields
requiring applicant completion will not become part of this agreement. Note: A person who makes a false certification has committed a criminal offense.

Signature of Borrower (In Ink): * Date: *

Sign, date, and return to ACPE at the address listed above.
ASEL PN 20/21 6 of 10



Private Education Loan
Applicant Self-Certification

OMB No. 1845-0101
OMB Approved
Exp. Date 8/31/2022

Important: Pursuant to Section 155 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, (HEA) and to satisfy the requirements of Section 128(e)(3) of the Truth in
Lending Act, a lender must obtain a self-certification signed by the applicant before disbursing a private education loan. The school is required on request to provide
this form or the required information only for students admitted or enrolled at the school. Throughout this Applicant Self-Certification, “you” and “your” refer to the
applicant who is applying for the loan. The applicant and the student may be the same person.

Instructions: Before signing, carefully read the entire form, including the definitions and other information on the following page. Submit the signed form

to your lender.

| SECTION 1: NOTICES TO APPLICANT

« Free or lower-cost Title IV federal, state, or school student financial aid may be available in place of, or in addition to, a private
education loan. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans and work-study, submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid

(FAFSA) available at www.fafsa.ed.gov, or by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office.
« A private education loan may reduce eligibility for free or lower-cost federal, state, or school student financial aid.

« You are strongly encouraged to pursue the availability of free or lower-cost financial aid with the school’s financial aid office.

« The financial information required to complete this form can be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. If the lender has
provided this information, you should contact your school’s financial aid office to verify this information and to discuss your

financing options.

| SECTION 2: COST OF ATTENDANCE AND ESTIMATED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

If information is not already entered below, obtain the needed information from the school’s financial aid office and enter it on the appropriate line. Sign

and date where indicated. See Section 5 for definitions of financial aid terms.

A. Student's cost of attendance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan $

B. Estimated financial assistance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan

C. Difference between amounts A and B

R<2d

WARNING: If you borrow more than the amount on line C, you risk reducing your eligibility for

free or lower-cost federal, state, or school financial aid.

| SECTION 3: APPLICANT INFORMATION

Enter or correct the information below.

Full Name and Address of School

Applicant Name (last, first, M)

Permanent Street Address

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) /

City, State, Zip Code

Area Code / Telephone Number Home ( )

E-mail Address

Other (

)

Period of Enroliment Covered by the Loan (mm/dd/yyyy) From___/ /

to

If the student is not the applicant, provide the student’s name and date of birth.

Student Name (last, first, M)

Student Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

/

| SECTION 4: APPLICANT SIGNATURE

| certify that | have read and understood the notices in Section 1 and, that to the best of my knowledge, the information provided on this form is true and correct.

Signature of Applicant

Date (mm/dd/yyyy)
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| SECTION 5: DEFINITIONS

Cost of attendance is an estimate of tuition and fees, room and board, transportation, and other costs for the period of enrollment covered by the loan, as
determined by the school. A student’s cost of attendance may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office.

Estimated financial assistance is all federal, state, institutional (school), private, and other sources of assistance used in determining eligibility for most Title IV
student financial aid, including amounts of financial assistance used to replace the expected family contribution. The student’s estimated financial assistance is
determined by the school and may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office.

A lender is a private education lender as defined in Section 140 of the Truth in Lending Act and any other person engaged in the business of securing, making, or
extending private education loans on behalf of the lender.

A period of enroliment is the academic year, academic term (such as semester, trimester, or quarter), or the number of weeks of instructional time for which the
applicant is requesting the loan.

A private education loan is a loan provided by a private education lender that is not a Title IV loan and that is issued expressly for postsecondary education
expenses, regardless of whether the loan is provided through the school that the student attends or directly to the borrower from the private education lender. A
private education loan does not include (1) An extension of credit under an open-end consumer credit plan, a reverse mortgage transaction, a residential mortgage
transaction, or any other loan that is secured by real property or a dwelling; or (2) An extension of credit in which the school is the lender if the term of the extension
of credit is 90 days or less or an interest rate will not be applied to the credit balance and the term of the extension of credit is one year or less, even if the credit is
payable in more than four installments.

Title IV student financial aid includes the Federal Pell Grant Program, the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program, the Federal
Work-Study (FWS) Program, the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program, the Federal Perkins Loan Program, and the Teacher Education
Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans, and work-study, submit a Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), which is available at www.fafsa.gov, by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office.

SECTION 6: PAPERWORK REDUCTION NOTICE

Paperwork Reduction Notice: According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it
displays a currently valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 1845-0101. The time required to complete this
information collection is estimated to average 0.25 hours (15 minutes) per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather
and maintain the data needed and complete and review the information collection.

If you have any comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: U.S. Department of
Education, Washington, DC 20202-4651

If you have any comments or concerns regarding the status of your individual submission of this form, contact your lender.
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Alaska Supplemental Education Loan Application and Solicitation Disclosure
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Loan Interest Rate & Fees

Alaska Student Loan Corporation

P.O. Box 110505

Juneau, AK 99811-0505
800-441-2962 in Juneau 907-465-2962
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973

www.acpe.alaska.gov

Your interest rate will be between

5.50%

and

8.50%

After the rate is set, your rate will remain the
same for the life of the loan.

Loan Fees

Origination Fee: No origination fee is charged.

Your Starting Interest Rate (upon approval)

The interest rate you pay will be determined when your loan is
approved. The rate will be based upon your credit history (or your
cosigner’s credit, if applicable). If approved, we will notify you of

the rate you qualify for within the stated range.

Your Interest Rate during the life of the loan

Your rate is fixed. This means that once your rate is set, the rate
will remain the same for the life of the loan. For more information
on this rate, see the reference notes.

Late Fees: A late fee of up to $15 may be charged for delinquent payments that are 30 days or more past due.

Loan Cost Examples

The total amount you will pay for this loan will vary depending upon when you start to repay it. This example provides
estimates based upon three repayment options available to you while enrolled in school.

Repayment Option

(while enrolled and during your grace

period)

1. DEFER PAYMENTS
Make no payments while enrolled
in school and during grace period.
Interest will be charged and added

to your loan.

2. PAY ONLY THE INTEREST

Amount Provided
(amount provided
directly to you or your
school)

$10,000

Make interest payments, but defer
payments on the principal amount

while enrolled in school and
during grace period.

3. MAKE FULL PAYMENTS
Make principal and interest

$10,000

payments while enrolled in school
and during grace period.

About this example

$10,000

Interest Rate
(highest possible
starting rate)

8.50%

8.50%

8.50%

Loan Term
(how long you have to
pay off the loan)

10 years
Repayment begins after
the grace period

10 years
Repayment begins after
the grace period

10 years*
Repayment begins after
the first disbursement

Total Paid over
10 years
(includes
associated fees)

$19,999.29

$18,326.28

$14,647.54

The examples above are based on a loan amount of $10,000 with an interest rate of 8.50%. Repayment examples 1 and 2 assume an in-
school period of four years and a six-month grace period before entering repayment. The repayment period is 10 years following the
grace period. *Example 3 begins repayment after first disbursement, with a total repayment period of 10 years from date of first

disbursement.
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Federal Loan Alternatives

Loan Program Current Interest Rates by Program Type You may qualify for
PERKINS 5.00% fixed Federal education loans.
for Students

o £ - For additional information,
DIRECT 2.75% fixed Undergraduate subsidized

contact your school’s
financial aid office or the
Department of Education at:

for Students

2.75% fixed Undergraduate unsubsidized

4.30% fixed Graduate or professional unsubsidized https://studentaid.gov

DIRECT PLUS 5.30% fixed

for Parents and Graduate /
Professional Students

Next Steps

1. Find Out About Other Loan Options.
Some schools have school-specific student loan benefits and terms not detailed on this form. Contact your school’'s
financial aid office or visit the Department of Education’s web site at: https://studentaid.gov for more information
about other loans.

2. To Apply for this Loan, Complete the Application and the Self-Certification Form.
The Self-certification form is provided to you as part of the loan agreement packet. You may get the information you
need to complete the form from your school’s financial aid office. If you are approved for this loan, the loan terms will
be available for 30 days (terms will not change during this period, except as permitted by law).

REFERENCE NOTES

Fixed Interest Rate Eligibility Criteria

o This loan has a fixed interest rate for the life of the loan. Borrower
The rate will be based upon your credit history (or your « Must be 17 years or older at the time of application.
cosigner’s credit, if applicable) and whether the location
of the school you are attending is in-state or out-of-state. o Must be enrolled at least half-time in a career vocational-technical
If approved, we will notify you of the rate you qualify for program or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree
within the stated range. program.

« Meet all other eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application
Bankruptcy Limitations and loan agreement.
« If you file for bankruptcy, you may still be required to

pay back this loan. Cosigner

o Must be 18 years or older at the time of application.

« Meet all other eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application
and loan agreement.

More information about loan eligibility and repayment deferral or
forbearance options is available in your loan application and loan
agreement.
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