
Features Loan Maximums 

The FEL has a fixed interest rate for the life of the loan! 

• Zero fees
• 6.00% (6.00% APR) fixed interest rate
• Additional 0.25% rate discount once you enroll in

ACPE’s Auto-Pay. Reduces your rate to a low 5.75%
(5.75% APR).

• No minimum credit score requirement
• Serviced in Alaska by Alaskans

Undergraduate Students: 
• On-time enrollment - up to $14,000
• Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500

Graduate Students: 
• Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000

Career & Technical Education Programs: 
• Certificate - up to $10,000
• Flight Program - up to $10,000

Instructions 

What You’ll Need to Apply: 
• Social Security Number (SSN)
• Student information
• Financial aid information, such as the students cost of attendance
• Two references with whom you expect to remain in contact with

Next Steps: 
1. Both you and the student must sign the FEL application in ink. Make a copy for your records and mail the original

application and applicant self-certification (pages 6-9) to ACPE, at the address listed above:
2. We will review your application and contact your student’s school to confirm their enrollment and loan needs.

Other factors such as prior default on ACPE loans or past due child support obligations may impact your
eligibility.

3. If approved, we will send you a Loan Approval Disclosure (LAD). Your LAD will include your loan interest rate and
estimated costs of credit. You must review and accept the LAD in order for your loan to be finalized. The quickest
way to review and accept your LAD is through your ACPE online account.

4. Loan funds will be sent to the school approximately 10 days from the date you accept the LAD. The student can
check with the school to confirm when funds will be available to them.

5. Monitor the status of your loan application through your ACPE online account. If you have any questions email us
at ACPE@alaska.gov or call 800-441-2962 (465-2962 in Juneau).

Did you know, you can submit this application online at acpe.alaska.gov and be pre-approved for a loan in as little 
as 15 minutes? 

ALASKA FAMILY EDUCATION LOAN (FEL) 
2020/2021 APPLICATION AND PROMISSORY NOTE 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: JULY 1, 2020 – JUNE 30, 2021 

 

Alaska Commission on 
Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

Customer Service Center 
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962 

In Juneau: (907) 465-2962 
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973 

Fax: (907) 465-5316 
acpe.alaska.gov
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A. Eligibility Requirements 
In order to qualify for this loan, a borrower must: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and an Alaska resident;  
2. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan, and 

within the preceding five years not have had an education loan written 
off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy;  

3. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 
4. not have a status at the time of application for a loan, or disbursement of 

the funds, that would prevent repaying the loan as it becomes due; 
5. have complied with any applicable military selective service registration 

requirements under the Military Selective Service Act. 
In order to qualify for a loan, a student for whom you are borrowing 
must: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or an eligible non-citizen, and an Alaska resident;  
2. attend an eligible postsecondary institution; 
3. be enrolled full-time in a career vocational-technical program or an 

associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree program; 
4. be a student in academic good standing, as defined by the institution of 

attendance; 
5. not be delinquent or have ever defaulted on a prior education loan and 

within the preceding five years not have had an education loan written 
off for any reason except for discharge in bankruptcy; 

6. not be past due in an Alaska child support obligation; 
7. have complied with any applicable military selective service registration 

requirements under the Military Selective Service Act;  
8. be a spouse, child, step child, foster child, or grandchild of the 

borrower; and 
9. meet all other requirements under AS 14.43.750 and 20 AAC 15.510. 

B. Credit Assessment/Eligibility Checks: 
ACPE will review your credit history, your Social Security Number will 
be matched against the Alaska Department of Revenue, Child Support 
Services Division’s database, and other required databases, to ensure you 
are eligible. To qualify for the FEL, you must not have a credit history 
that demonstrates chronic inability or unwillingness to pay an extension of 
credit. If you do not qualify, you will be informed in writing of the reason 
for the denial and given an opportunity to add a cosigner to your 
application. 

C. Cosigner: 
An eligible cosigner is required if you are under 16 years of age, do not 
meet the credit requirements, or have defaulted on a prior education loan 
with ACPE. If you elect to add a cosigner, that person will be responsible 
for the loan even in the event you meet the credit conditions 
independently. ACPE will notify the cosigner of periods of delinquency, 
forbearances granted, or any repayment agreement that will change the 
amount due on the loan. ACPE can collect from your cosigner without 
first having to collect from you. 

 

D. Fees:  
ACPE charges no origination fee. You may be assessed a late fee of up to 
$15 if your payment is 30 days or more past due. In the case of default, 
you will be responsible for reasonable collection agency fees and/or 
collection and legal costs up to the total cost of collecting the debt you 
owe. 

E. Interest: 
The FEL has a fixed interest rate of 6.00%. Interest begins to accrue when 
funds are disbursed (sent to the school). Interest accrues during in-school, 
repayment and forbearance periods. Accrued and unpaid interest is 
capitalized (added to the principal balance) at various times. Generally, 
interest is capitalized any time your loan changes from a non-repayment 
status, such as forbearance periods, to a repayment status. Accrued and 
unpaid interest, late fees, and collection fees must be satisfied before 
payments are applied to principal. 

Online Auto-Pay Reduction: 
You may be eligible to receive a 0.25% interest rate reduction on your 
loan by authorizing ACPE to automatically deduct qualifying loan 
payments from a checking or savings account during the in-school and 
repayment periods. The reduction will remain in effect as long as 
qualifying automatic payments continue without interruption and other 
conditions are met. 
 
 

IMPORTANT 
Before borrowing, always use grants, scholarships, and other 
funds that do not have to be repaid. This is not a federal loan 
and does not have the same repayment options. 

Failure to timely repay this loan may result in, but is not limited 
to: 

• adverse reports to consumer reporting agencies 
• additional costs to you for collection and  

accrued interest 

• forfeiture of deferment rights 
• seizure of your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend 

• administrative wage garnishment 
• lien on property 
• a judgment in a court of law and/or legal or collection 

action 

REMEMBER—Under current loan terms, after four years of 
borrowing, monthly payments can be as much as $500 or even 
greater at graduate loan maximums. 

Alaska Commission on 
Postsecondary Education  

 

P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

 

Customer Service Center 
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962 

In Juneau: (907) 465-2962 
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973 

Fax: (907) 465-5316 
acpe.alaska.gov Alaska Family Education Loan (FEL) 

2020/2021 Application and Promissory Note 

Loan Terms and Conditions 
The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) services the education loans owned by the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC). 

Loans made under this application are governed by Alaska law including Alaska Statutes 14.43.710 - 750 and Alaska Regulations 20 AAC 15.510–590 
and 20 AAC 15.910-15.990, as amended from time to time.  
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Qualifying Conditions: 
To qualify for the interest rate reduction, you must set-up recurring 
payments that meet the following conditions: 

• In-school Period – Payments made during the in-school period must 
be a minimum of $50.00 per loan.  

• Repayment Period – Your loan must be current in repayment, and 
payments must be a minimum of $5.00.  

• Deferment/Forbearance Periods – Payments made during deferment 
and forbearance periods must be a minimum of $50.00 per loan. 

F. Annual Percentage Rate (APR): 
The APR is the yearly cost of borrowing money, shown as a percent of 
the amount you borrowed. The APR is calculated based on the interest 
that will be charged over the life of the loan, the principal balance at 
origination, and the payment schedule, assuming that all payments will 
be made on time. 

 
This Table Represents Estimated Rates Interest Rate APR 
Principal Loan Amount $10,000         6.00% 6.00% 
 
The APR in this example assumes a principal loan amount of $10,000, a repayment  
term of 10 years and no origination fee. 
 

Federal law requires all lenders to provide this information about 
important credit protections available to members of the Armed 
Forces and their dependents. In general, the cost of consumer credit to 
a member of the Armed Forces and his or her dependent may not exceed 
an annual percentage rate of 36 percent. This rate must include, as 
applicable to the credit transaction or account: The costs associated with 
credit insurance premiums; fees for ancillary products sold in connection 
with the credit transaction; any application fee charged (other than 
certain application fees for specified credit transactions or accounts); and 
any participation fee charged. If you have any questions as to whether 
the Military Lending Act applies to you, or to receive this 
information verbally, along with a clear description of your payment 
obligation, contact us at 800-441-2962. 

G. Disbursement of Loan Funds: 
ACPE will send funds to the school’s financial aid office. Your loan will 
be disbursed in equal installments based on the start date of the school’s 
academic terms and the student’s enrollment period unless the school 
designates alternate amounts. The disbursement amount cannot exceed 
the total certified loan amount. Funds for allowable expenses, but not 
owed directly to the school, may be released to the student.  

H. Allowable Uses of Loan Funds: 
This loan may be used for the student’s tuition and program-related costs; 
room and board (living expenses); books; supplies; and allowance for 
transportation, based on the school’s published budget. 

I. Enrollment Intensity: 
Enrollment intensity refers to whether the student attends on-time or full-
time, as defined by the school. The school’s financial aid office is 
required to certify the student’s enrollment intensity, and the loan amount 
is based on the student’s enrollment intensity. 

On-time Attendance: 
An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of fifteen (15) semester 
credit hours or equivalent per academic term. 

Full-time Attendance: 
a) An undergraduate student enrolled in a minimum of twelve (12) 

semester credit hours or equivalent per academic term; 
b) A graduate student enrolled in a minimum of nine (9) semester credit 

hours or equivalent per academic term; or 
c) A student enrolled in a career education program of at least thirty (30) 

clock hours per week for a minimum of six (6) weeks. 

Flight School: 
A student enrolled in a flight school program must log a minimum of 17 
hours per month or 51 hours for a three-month period.   

J. Loan Maximums: 
You may receive up to the amount of your annual eligibility, as certified 
by the school, subject the loan maximums described below.   
Note: The loan amount may be different from the amount disbursed, due to 
changes in your eligibility, enrollment or academic standing. Financial aid 
staff are not agents of ACPE and have no authority to change the terms and 
conditions of this Promissory Note. 

Undergraduate Students: 
• On-time enrollment - up to $14,000 
• Full-time enrollment - up to $12,500 
Graduate Students: 
• Full-time enrollment - up to $15,000 

Career, Technical Education and Flight Programs: 
• Up to $10,000 

Cumulative Loan Maximums:  
• Undergraduate study (including career/technical/flight) - $56,000 
• Graduate study - $60,000 
• Combined total - $87,000 
A borrower who receives Family Education Loans on behalf of more 
than one student and has borrowed up to the cumulative maximum may 
receive additional loans if the current total principal balance owed, 
including the new loan amount, does not exceed the cumulative 
maximum. 

K. Repayment: 
A repayment schedule will be established when the final disbursement is 
sent to the school, student drops below a full-time enrollment status, 
withdraws from school, or graduates, whichever is sooner. Generally, 
you must repay the loan in monthly installments of at least $50 per 
month for up to 10 years. Payments can be as much as $500 or greater 
depending on the total amount borrowed. The repayment term may be 
extended in qualifying situations, which also increases the total amount 
to repay. For borrowers who do not make payments after the first 
disbursement, the repayment schedule will be the one set forth in the 
Final Disclosure. 

Application of Payments: 
Payments received will be applied first to any late charges then accrued 
interest. Any remaining amount will be applied to the principal balance 
of the loan. Payment on a delinquent loan will be applied first to 
collection costs (including late fees), then to any outstanding interest 
charges, then to the outstanding principal balance of the loan, until those 
amounts are paid in full. 

L. Forbearance 
No deferment options are available for this loan; however, if you meet 
certain requirements, you may receive a forbearance that allows you to 
temporarily stop making payments on your loan. Forbearances are 
provided at the discretion of the lender and are not an entitlement of the 
loan. 

M. Americans With Disabilities Act Compliance: 
Otherwise qualified individuals shall not, based on a disability, be 
discriminated against or excluded from participation in, or the benefits 
of, the services, programs or activities of ACPE. Please notify ACPE if 
you need a disability accommodation. 
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N. Information Sharing and Privacy Act Notice: 
Information you provide in this application will be used to verify your 
identity; to determine eligibility; to service the loan; to maintain current 
contact information; and to collect on delinquent or defaulted loans. 
This information may be furnished during the life of the loan to holders 
of this and other ACPE Alaska education loans made to you; to 
postsecondary schools where the student is enrolled or is accepted for 
enrollment; to guarantee agencies; to government agencies or private 
parties who may be able to provide information necessary for the 
collection of the loan or to assist in the servicing or collection of the 
loan; or as needed to contractors and other third parties involved in 
servicing the loan.  

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is required as a 
condition for participation in the loan program and as allowed under 
Section 7(a) (2) of the Privacy Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-579). The SSN 
will be used to verify your identity, and although not used as the 

account number, may be used to identify account holders throughout the 
life of the loan.  

ACPE may use your SSN to access state or federal databases and other 
resources to determine your eligibility for administrative action or 
administrative garnishment in cases of default. 

ACPE and any of their contractual servicers, including debt collectors, 
will use all phone numbers, including cell phone numbers you provide, 
in the servicing of this loan.  By providing ACPE or any of its servicers 
with a telephone number, including a cell number, you are giving 
permission for any of these parties to call you on that number, 
including calls placed by automated dialing systems leaving recorded 
messages, as detailed under the Borrower Responsibilities and 
Agreements section below.  

A copy of ACPE’s Privacy Policy is available on our website. 
https://acpesecure.alaska.gov/Privacy.

Borrower Responsibilities and Agreements 
• NOTICE: Information concerning the amount of this loan and its 

status will be reported to nationwide consumer reporting agencies 
upon initial disbursement and continue on a regular basis until the loan 
is paid in full. Late payments, missed payments, or Defaulting on this 
loan will also be reported to the consumer reporting agencies and will 
result in forfeiture of any deferment rights. 

If you believe that any information about your loan that we have 
furnished to a consumer reporting agency is inaccurate, or if you 
believe that you have been victim of identity theft in connection with 
any other education loan made by us, write to us at the following 
address: 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 
P.O. Box 110505 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

In your letter (i) provide your name and the loan or account number, 
(ii) identify the specific information that is being disputed, (iii) explain 
the basis for the dispute and (iv) provide any supporting 
documentation you have that substantiates the basis of the dispute. If 
you believe that you have been the victim of identity theft, submit an 
identity theft affidavit or identity theft report. 

• You (the borrower) and student must meet all eligibility requirements 
listed under section A: Eligibility Requirements to qualify for this loan 
and to continue to receive new loans. 

• You must use any ACPE funds solely for the expenses listed under 
section H: Allowable Uses of Loan Funds.  

• You must report to ACPE any change that affects the conditions of 
this loan within 30 days. You understand you waive any objections 
based on a lack of notice if you fail to report any of the following 
changes: 

a) change of name, address, telephone number, or other contact 
information; 

b) change of institution, dates of attendance, or enrollment status; 
c) failure to enroll at the school for the period for which the loan was 

obtained; 
d) graduation, withdrawal, or dismissal from the course of study for 

which the loan was awarded; or 
e) inability to make payments as scheduled. 

In the event bankruptcy proceedings are commenced, you must notify 
ACPE, in writing, at the address listed below, within 20 days after the 
petition is filed. 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 
P.O. Box 110505 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

• You authorize the release of information pertinent to your loans:  
1) by the school or ACPE to the references or cosigner on your loan 

application, or to members of your immediate family unless you 
submit written direction otherwise; and  

2) by and among the school, ACPE and loan servicing contractors or 
resource providers, the U.S. Department of Education and the State 
of Alaska. You further authorize the references provided or any 
educational institution you may attend to release to ACPE, or 
subsequent holder or their agents, any requested information 
pertinent to this loan or to assist in its collection. 

• You must repay the loan in accordance with the repayment schedule 
established by ACPE; however, there is no penalty for early payoff. 

• You understand any communication with ACPE required or permitted 
under the Federal Bankruptcy Code must be in writing, must include 
your account number, and must be sent to: 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 
P.O. Box 110505 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

• You authorize ACPE to use automated telephone dialing, text 
messaging systems and electronic mail to provide messages to you 
about scheduled payments, missed payments and other important 
information regarding this Agreement or ACPE’s relationship with 
you. The telephone messages may be played by a machine 
automatically when the telephone is answered, whether answered by 
you or someone else. These messages may also be recorded by your 
answering machine. You give ACPE permission to call or send a text 
message to any telephone number you have given or you give to 
ACPE in the future, and to play pre-recorded messages or send text 
messages with information about the Agreement over the phone. You 
also give permission to communicate such information to you by e-
mail. You understand that, when you receive such calls, texts, or e-
mails, you may incur a charge from the company that provides you 
with telecommunications, wireless and/or internet services. You agree 
that ACPE will not be liable to you for any fees, inconvenience, 
annoyance or loss of privacy in connection with such calls, texts, or e-
mails. You understand that anyone with access to your telephone or 
email account may listen to or read the messages, notwithstanding 
ACPE’s efforts to communicate only with you. If a telephone 
number(s) you have provided to ACPE changes, or if you cease to be 
the owner, subscriber or primary user of such telephone number(s), 
you agree to immediately give ACPE notice of such facts so that we 
may update your records. 
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You understand and agree that, subject to applicable law, ACPE may 
monitor and/or record any of your phone conversations with any of its 
representatives for training, quality control, evidentiary, and any other 
purposes. However, ACPE is not under any obligation to monitor, 
record, retain, or reproduce such recordings, unless required by 
applicable law. 

To revoke consent to the use of autodialed calls, please contact us at 
800-441-2962. 

• You understand you must fulfill your obligations on this loan, and if 
you default, ACPE may declare the entire unpaid amount of the loan, 
including interest and fees, immediately due and payable. Any of the 
following conditions could result in your default status: 
o acceptance of funds for which you are not eligible; 
o a loan payment becomes 180 or more days past due; 
o falsification of any information in connection with this loan, 

whether by omission or commission; 
o failure to notify ACPE within 30 days after any change that affects 

the conditions of a loan or its repayment schedule, including any 
change of name, address, telephone number; or 

o failure to maintain Alaska legal residency while borrowing under 
this program, as applicable. 

• You understand if you default on this loan, ACPE may garnish your 
Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend. ACPE may transfer your loan to a 
collection agency, garnish your wages or other assets, and place a lien 
on your assets in order to collect this debt. 

• You understand your responsibility for paying the loan evidenced by 
the Note is unaffected by the liability of any other person to you or to 
ACPE, or by ACPE’s failure to notify you that a required payment has 
not been made. You further understand acceptance by ACPE of any 
(a) late payments, (b) partial payments or (c) payments marked “paid-
in-full” or with other restrictions of the amounts in arrears will not 
waive or affect any prior demand for immediate payment of the total 
balance of this debt. ACPE may delay or fail to exercise or waive any 
rights on any occasion without losing its entitlement to exercise the 
right at any future time or any future occasion. ACPE will not be 
obligated to make any demand on you, send you any notice, present 
this Promissory Note to you for payment or make protest of non-
payment to you before suing to collect on this Note if you are in 

default, and to the extent permitted by applicable law, you hereby 
waive any right you might otherwise have to require such actions. 
Except as otherwise provided in this Note, you waive any right to 
receive notice of intention to accelerate the balance of the loan and any 
right to receive notice of acceleration. YOU WILL NOT SEND 
ACPE PAYMENTS MARKED “PAID-IN-FULL,” “WITHOUT 
RECOURSE” OR WITH OTHER SIMILAR LANGUAGE 
UNLESS THOSE PAYMENTS ARE MAILED TO THE 
FOLLOWING ADDRESS: 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 
P.O. Box 110505 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505 

• You understand that the following notice is only applicable to loans 
issued to finance attendance at for-profit educational institutions or 
institutions otherwise subject to the FTC Holder Rule under 16 CFR 
433.2.  

NOTICE: ANY HOLDER OF THIS CONSUMER CREDIT 
CONTRACT IS SUBJECT TO ALL CLAIMS AND DEFENSES 
WHICH THE DEBTOR COULD ASSERT AGAINST THE 
SELLER OF GOODS OR SERVICES OBTAINED WITH THE 
PROCEEDS HEREOF. RECOVERY HEREUNDER BY THE 
DEBTOR SHALL NOT EXCEED AMOUNTS PAID BY THE 
DEBTOR HEREUNDER. 

• By signing this promissory note, you certify: 
1) You are not delinquent, nor have you ever been in default, on an 

education loan, nor had such a loan written off for any reason, except 
bankruptcy, within the past five years; 

2) You are not past due in paying an established child support 
obligation; 

3) You do not have a status, at the time of application for a loan or 
disbursement of loan money, that would prevent you from repaying 
this loan as it becomes due; 

4) You have not defaulted on another loan made by a lending entity 
within the previous seven years;  

5) You are a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen; and 
6) You are an Alaska resident as defined under section A of the Loan 

Terms and Conditions.
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Alaska Commission on 
Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 110505 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505  

Customer Service Center 
Toll Free: (800) 441-2962 

In Juneau: (907) 465-2962 
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973 

Fax: (907) 465-5316 
acpe.alaska.gov

 

BORROWER INFORMATION      All fields marked with an asterisk are required 

Last Name:*              First Name:* Middle Initial: Social Security Number:*  

Date of Birth:*  Driver’s License or State ID #:     State: Telephone Number:* (         )  - 

Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street):*               City:*               State:*            Zip:* 

Email Address:*  

STUDENT INFORMATION       All fields marked with an asterisk are required 

Last Name:*              First Name:*  Middle Initial: Social Security Number:*  

Date of Birth:* Email Address:* Telephone Number:* (         )   - 

Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street):*               City:*                   State:*           Zip:* 

SCHOOL INFORMATION       All fields marked with an asterisk are required SCHOOL CODE (ACPE use only): 

School Name & Location (State):*  

Enrollment Intensity (See definition under section I of the Loan Terms & Conditions):*        On-time          Full-time       

Academic Dates:*      To  Tuition Type:*     Resident   Non-Resident  No Differential        Western Undergraduate Exchange 

Grade Level:*  Indicate whether you will be an undergraduate, graduate, career/technical or flight student for the academic period and your class standing. 

Undergraduate:       Freshman       Sophomore  Junior        Senior Graduate (Year):    1          2          3          4    Career/Tech      Flight 

Field of Study/Program Title (Course Title Required for Vocational or Flight Students):* 

REFERENCES       All fields marked with an asterisk are required 

Provide two separate references with different U.S. addresses. Your references should be individuals with whom you expect to remain in regular contact. 
Your references will be contacted if we need to verify or update your contact information. 

Reference 1 Name:* 

Mailing Address:* 

Telephone:* 

Relationship:* 

City, State, Zip:* 

Email:* 

Reference 2 Name:* 

Mailing Address:* 

Telephone:* 

Relationship:* 

City, State, Zip:* 

Email:* 

Alaska Family Education Loan (FEL)
2020/2021 Application and Promissory Note 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT PROCEDURES FOR OPENING A NEW ACCOUNT 
To help the government report the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, Federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and 
record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for me: When I apply for a student loan, you will ask for my name, 
address, date of birth and other information that will allow you to identify me. You may also ask to see my driver’s license or other identifying documents. 
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PROMISE TO PAY       All fields marked with an asterisk are required 

THIS IS A LOAN THAT MUST BE REPAID 

BORROWER: I PROMISE TO PAY to the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education the loan amount advanced plus interest and fees. I 
understand that that this is a Note for a loan that I am required to repay  I certify that I do not have a status, at the time of application for a loan or 
disbursement of loan money, that would prevent the borrower from repaying the loan as it becomes due. In the event of my death or disability, any cosigner 
shall remain obligated for the amount due on the loan. 

BORROWER AND STUDENT: We, the borrower and the student, understand that multiple loan disbursements may be made under this note. We have 
read, understand and will abide by all terms and conditions set forth in this application and Promissory Note, and we have retained a copy of this packet for 
our records.  

By signing, we certify under penalty of perjury that all information provided in support of this application is true to the best of our knowledge. We further 
certify that we meet all eligibility requirements. We agree to be bound by the Borrower Loan Terms and Conditions, the Borrower Responsibilities and 
Agreements, and the terms of this Promissory Note. We agree that any stray marks or notations made to this Promissory Note in places other than fields 
requiring applicant completion will not become part of this agreement. Note: A person who makes a false certification has committed a criminal offense. 

Signature of Student (In Ink):* ________________________________________________________________________   Date:*____________________ 

The borrower and student must sign, date, and return to ACPE at the address listed above. 

Signature of Borrower (In Ink):* ______________________________________________________________________  Date: *____________________ 
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________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Important:  Pursuant to Section 155 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, (HEA) and to satisfy the requirements of Section 128(e)(3) of the Truth in 
Lending Act, a lender must obtain a self-certification signed by the applicant before disbursing a private education loan. The school is required on request to provide 
this form or the required information only for students admitted or enrolled at the school. Throughout this Applicant Self-Certification, “you” and “your” refer to the 
applicant who is applying for the loan. The applicant and the student may be the same person.  

Instructions:  Before signing, carefully read the entire form, including the definitions and other information on the following page. Submit the signed form 
to your lender.       

SECTION 1:  NOTICES TO APPLICANT 
• Free or lower-cost Title IV federal, state, or school student financial aid may be available in place of, or in addition to, a private

education loan. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans and work-study, submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid
(FAFSA) available at www.fafsa.ed.gov, or by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office.

• A private education loan may reduce eligibility for free or lower-cost federal, state, or school student financial aid.
• You are strongly encouraged to pursue the availability of free or lower-cost financial aid with the school’s financial aid office.
• The financial information required to complete this form can be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. If the lender has

provided this information, you should contact your school’s financial aid office to verify this information and to discuss your
financing options.

SECTION 2: COST OF ATTENDANCE AND ESTIMATED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE 
If information is not already entered below, obtain the needed information from the school’s financial aid office and enter it on the appropriate line. Sign 
and date where indicated.  See Section 5 for definitions of financial aid terms. 

A. Student’s cost of attendance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan $____________________ 
B. Estimated financial assistance for the period of enrollment covered by the loan $____________________ 
C. Difference between amounts A and B

WARNING: If you borrow more than the amount on line C, you risk reducing your eligibility for
free or lower-cost federal, state, or school financial aid.

$____________________ 

SECTION 3: APPLICANT INFORMATION   
Enter or correct the information below.   

Full Name and Address of School ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Applicant Name (last, first, MI) ___________________________________________________      Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 

Permanent Street Address __________________________________________________________________     

City, State, Zip Code __________________________________________________________________ ____________________ 

Area Code / Telephone Number   Home (          ) ____________________________        Other (   ) ____________________________ 

E-mail Address________________________________________________________________________________________

Period of Enrollment Covered by the Loan (mm/dd/yyyy)        From ____ / _____ / _______ to _____ / _____ / _______

If the student is not the applicant, provide the student’s name and date of birth.      

Student Name (last, first, MI) ____________________________________________________      Student Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) _____/_____/__________ 

SECTION 4: APPLICANT SIGNATURE 

I certify that I have read and understood the notices in Section 1 and, that to the best of my knowledge, the information provided on this form is true and correct.  

Signature of Applicant ____________________________________________________________________   Date (mm/dd/yyyy) _______________________ 

OMB No. 1845-0101 
OMB Approved  
Exp. Date 8/31/2022 

Private Education Loan  
Applicant Self-Certification 
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SECTION 5: DEFINITIONS 

Cost of attendance is an estimate of tuition and fees, room and board, transportation, and other costs for the period of enrollment covered by the loan, as 
determined by the school. A student’s cost of attendance may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 

Estimated financial assistance is all federal, state, institutional (school), private, and other sources of assistance used in determining eligibility for most Title IV 
student financial aid, including amounts of financial assistance used to replace the expected family contribution. The student’s estimated financial assistance is 
determined by the school and may be obtained from the school’s financial aid office. 

A lender is a private education lender as defined in Section 140 of the Truth in Lending Act and any other person engaged in the business of securing, making, or 
extending private education loans on behalf of the lender. 

A period of enrollment is the academic year, academic term (such as semester, trimester, or quarter), or the number of weeks of instructional time for which the 
applicant is requesting the loan.     

A private education loan is a loan provided by a private education lender that is not a Title IV loan and that is issued expressly for postsecondary education 
expenses, regardless of whether the loan is provided through the school that the student attends or directly to the borrower from the private education lender. A 
private education loan does not include (1) An extension of credit under an open-end consumer credit plan, a reverse mortgage transaction, a residential mortgage 
transaction, or any other loan that is secured by real property or a dwelling; or (2) An extension of credit in which the school is the lender if the term of the extension 
of credit is 90 days or less or an interest rate will not be applied to the credit balance and the term of the extension of credit is one year or less, even if the credit is 
payable in more than four installments. 

Title IV student financial aid includes the Federal Pell Grant Program, the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program, the Federal 
Work-Study (FWS) Program, the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program, the Federal Perkins Loan Program, and the Teacher Education 
Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program. To apply for Title IV federal grants, loans, and work-study, submit a Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), which is available at www.fafsa.gov, by calling 1-800-4-FED-AID, or from the school’s financial aid office. 

SECTION 6: PAPERWORK REDUCTION NOTICE 

Paperwork Reduction Notice: According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it 
displays a currently valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 1845-0101. The time required to complete this 
information collection is estimated to average 0.25 hours (15 minutes) per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather 
and maintain the data needed and complete and review the information collection. 
 If you have any comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to:  U.S. Department of 
Education, Washington, DC 20202-4651     
If you have any comments or concerns regarding the status of your individual submission of this form, contact your lender.   
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Alaska Family Education Loan Application and Solicitation Disclosure 
 
 
 
 
Loan Interest Rate & Fees 

 
Your Interest Rate (upon approval)  
The interest rate you pay will be 6.00%. The interest rate is not 
dependent on your credit score or other factors. 
 
Your Interest Rate during the life of the loan  
Your rate is fixed. This means that your rate remains the same 
for the life of the loan. For more information on this rate, see the 
reference notes. 
 

 

Loan Fees  
Origination Fee: No origination fee is charged. 
Late Fees:  A late fee of up to $15 may be charged for delinquent payments that are 30 days or more past due.    

Loan Cost Examples  
The total amount you will pay for this loan will vary depending upon when you start to repay it.  This example provides 
estimates based upon two repayment options available to you. 

Repayment Option  
(while the student is enrolled in 
school) 

Amount Provided  
(amount provided 
directly to you or your 
school) 

Interest Rate 
(highest possible 
starting rate) 

Loan Term  
(how long you have 
to pay off the loan) 

Total Paid 
over 10 years 
(includes 
associated fees) 

1. DEFER PAYMENTS 
Make no payments until after 
second disbursement. 

$10,000 6.00% 10 years 
Repayment begins 
after second 
disbursement 

$13,476.00 

2. PAY ONLY THE INTEREST 
Make interest payments while 
student is in school, but defer 
payments on the principal amount 
until after second disbursement.  

$10,000 6.00% 10 years 
Repayment begins 
after second 
disbursement 

$13,437.85 

3. MAKE FULL PAYMENTS 
Make principal and interest 
payments while student is in 
school. 

$10,000 6.00% 10 years* 
Repayment begins 
after first 
disbursement 

$13,258.88 

About this example  
The examples above are based on a loan amount of $10,000 with an interest rate of 6.0%. Repayment examples 1 and 2 assume two disbursements 
before entering repayment. The repayment period is 10 years following the second disbursement. There is no grace period for the Family Education Loan. 
*Example 3 begins repayment after the first disbursement, with a total repayment period of 10 years from the date of first disbursement. 

 

 

 

Your interest rate will be  

  

6.00%  

  
Your rate will remain the same for the life of 
the loan.  

Page 1 of 2 

Alaska Student Loan Corporation 
P.O. Box 110505  
Juneau, AK  99811-0505 
800-441-2962 in Juneau 907-465-2962 
TTY: 711 or (800) 770-8973 
www.acpe.alaska.gov 
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Federal Loan Alternatives 
 

Loan Program Current Interest Rates by Program Type 

PERKINS 
for Students 

5.00% fixed 

DIRECT 
for Students 

2.75% fixed Undergraduate subsidized 

2.75% fixed Undergraduate unsubsidized 

4.30% fixed Graduate or professional unsubsidized 

DIRECT PLUS  
for Parents and Graduate / 
Professional Students 

5.30% fixed  

   

Next Steps  
 

1. Find Out About Other Loan Options.  
Some schools have school-specific student loan benefits and terms not detailed on this form. Contact your school’s 
financial aid office or visit the Department of Education’s web site at: https://studentaid.gov for more information about 
other loans.  

2. To Apply for this Loan, Complete the Application and the Self-Certification Form.  
The Self-certification form is provided to you as part of the loan agreement packet. You may get the information you 
need to complete the form from your school’s financial aid office.  If you are approved for this loan, the loan terms will 
be available for 30 days (terms will not change during this period, except as permitted by law).  

REFERENCE NOTES 

Fixed Interest Rate  
• This loan has a fixed interest rate. 
  
Bankruptcy Limitations  
• If you file for bankruptcy, you may still be required to 

pay back this loan.    
 

 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Eligibility Criteria  
Borrower 
• Must be 16 years or older at the time of application. 

• Meet all other eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application 
and loan agreement. 

Student 
• Must be 16 years or older at the time of application. 

• Must be enrolled at least full-time in a career vocational-technical 
program or an associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree 
program. 

• Meet all other eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application 
and loan agreement. 

Cosigner 
• Must be 18 years or older at the time of application. Meet all other 

eligibility criteria as outlined in your loan application and loan 
agreement. 

 

More information about loan eligibility and forbearance options is 
available in your loan application and loan agreement.    

 

You may qualify for 
Federal education loans. 
 
For additional information, 
contact your school’s 
financial aid office or the 
Department of Education at: 
 
https://studentaid.gov 
 

Page 2 of 2 
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