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Postsecondary
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GREETINGS!

In this issue, we spotlight Alaska Driving Academy - Truck
= = -1‘"‘ Driving Division, highlight some changes in state and

> naaul federal regulation, give an update on legislative activity
affecting the Alaska Performance Scholarship and more!
As always, | invite you to send me your feedback or
suggestions for future topics.

[l

Ake Bay, Juneau by L. Can .

SPOTLIGHT ON...

Alaska Driving Academy - Truck Driving Division

Alaska Driving Academy Truck Driving Division (ADA-TDD) has been in operation for a year
offering authorized instruction in _ -

professional truck driving in Soldotna. gl
ADA-TDD was founded by Ed Martin IlI
in November 2017. His 160-hour
course, Entry Level Truck Driving, is
certified by the Professional Truck Driver
Institute (PTDI), a national organization
that sets standards for the industry.
Driver training is also overseen by the
Alaska Department of Administration,
Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). ADA-
TDD was approved in March 2018 by e

the DMV as a commercial driving school An ADA-TDD graduate
and a road skills test facility, which

allows their licensed staff to conduct road skills exams.
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ADA-TDD has a private range where student drivers can practice skills before driving on public
roads and a large shop that allows student to conduct vehicle inspections inside.

At the July 23rd meeting, the Commission approved ADA-TDD's renewal of authorization until
October 31, 2021. Congratulations!

Recent Statutory and Regulatory Changes Impact
Postsecondary Schools

Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
Three new licenses were added: Non-Chemical Barber, Hair Braider, and
Permanent Cosmetic Colorist. The change in statute was effective January 1, 2019

with the new regulations going into effect on March 30th.

The Non-Chemical Barbering license is based on the barbering license but
removes the practical application requirements of permanent waving (50), chemical
straightening (10) and hair coloring and bleaching (75). With the elimination of
those requirements, the program can be completed in 1350 hours rather than the
1650 hours for the barbering license. It is designed for the student that wishes to
provide only haircuts and shaves.

The Hair Braider license is a short-course of study of only 35 hours.

The Permanent Cosmetic Colorist (PCC) licensure program is 250 hours made up
of 125 hours of theory and 75 hours of practical operations on lips, eyelids and
eyebrows. It must be taught by a licensed tattooist who has held that license for a
least one year. Prior to the addition of the PCC license, a cosmetologist that wanted
to be licensed to apply permanent cosmetic color had to undertake 1000 hours of
training as an apprentice with a licensed tattoo artist. Currently, the statute does not
contemplate a school teaching PCC, and only allows a PCC apprentice to obtain
licensure. There may be a future effort to change statute to allow schools to teach
PCC.

An authorized cosmetology school that wishes to add the Non-Chemical Barbering
program would need to submit a program addition application and be approved by
the Commission. The Hair Braider license could be approved without Commission
action as an exempt short course of study.

To visit the Alaska Board of Barbers & Hairdressers website click here.

Alaska Board of Massage Therapy

The Board has increased the education requirements needed for licensure from at
least 500 hours at an ACPE-approved school to at least 625 hours with specific
course requirements. The new regulation requires:
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e Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology - 162 hours, including
instruction in
o at least 40 hours of pathology
o the muscular system
o the nervous system
o osteology
o the circulatory system
e Massage Theory and Practical Application - 275 hours, including
o basic massage therapy techniques
o assessment
¢ Clinical Practice - 138 hours, including instruction in
o universal and standard precautions
self-care
body mechanics
draping
record keeping
business practice and professional development
o medical terminology
e Ethics and Law - 50 hours, including instruction in
o professional boundaries
o therapeutic relationships
o local and state laws

O O O O

o

Massage therapy schools that are revising curriculum to meet the new content
standards should provide the updated curriculum and catalog to ACPE.

To visit the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists website click here.

https://ui.constantcontact.com/rnavmap/email/action/print?agentld=113...

US Education Secretary Betsy DeVos visits Alaska

During the last week of August, Secretary of Education
DeVos toured Alaska and visited several primary and
secondary schools. While in Fairbanks she participated in
a roundtable with around 30 to 40 state and local leaders
to talk about workforce development. ACPE Executive
Director Butler was invited to participate in the roundtable
and reported that the Secretary's team expressed interest
in the Almanac and College & Career Training in Alaska
magazine.

Ex. Director Butler and Sec.
DeVos

Recent Commission Actions Upcoming Events
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July 23, 2019 Meeting

Renewal of Authorization

e Alaska Driving Academy - Truck Driving
Division (Soldotna)

o Alaska Nail & Skin Academy (Anchorage)

e Amundsen Educational Center (Soldotna)

e Glenda's Training Center (Wasilla)

e Trend Setters School of Beauty
(Anchorage)

Amendment to Authorization

e Academy of Hair Design (Anchorage) - new
combo program in Hairdressing & Barbering

o Alaska Institute of Oriental Medicine,
Acupuncture & Massage Therapy -
revisions to Tuina Practitioner program

https://ui.constantcontact.com/rnavmap/email/action/print?agentld=113...

October 15, 2019

¢ Quarterly Commission Meeting
(Anchorage and via teleconference)

IMPORTANT DATE: October 15, 2019

Deadline for receipt of materials for
items to be presented at the January 9,
2020 Commission meeting

AEG and WWAMI applications.

healthy economy.

success through college and career training.
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After a Delay, Funding for the Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS), the
Alaska Education Grant (AEG) and WWAMI is Reinstated

Alaska's Higher Education Investment Fund (HEIF) is a savings account that is the source of the
monies distributed to students who are eligible for the APS, AWG and WWAMI funding. Under
the Alaska Constitution, the unspent funds appropriated from the Budget Reserve Fund to the
HEIF must be returned to the Budget Reserve Fund at the end of the fiscal year.
By a three-quarters vote, the legislature must approve moving the funds back the
HEIF from the Budget Reserve Fund or the HEIF will remain empty. This vote is
referred to as the "reverse sweep." This year the legislature did not pass the
reverse sweep until Monday, July 29th, significantly later than in past years. Until
the reverse sweep occurred, there was no money in the HEIF and ACPE could not
plan to distribute funds to schools on behalf of eligible students. ACPE is now processing APS,

Commission Adopts Resolution to Support Alaskans' Educational Success
and Contribution to a Healthy Alaska Economy
Commission called for reinstatement of the APS, the AEG and WWAMI funding

At its July 23, 2019 meeting, the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education approved a
resolution that supports the APS, AEG, and WWAMI funding as important contributors to a

The Commission reaffirmed its commitment to support Alaska's college and career training
students and institutions, by providing information, planning, financial aid and education
consumer protection resources; and by offering Alaska's policy-makers research and analysis
tools to inform efficient and effective progress towards individual citizen and collective economic

To read the resolution click here. To read the press release click here.
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Governor Dunleavy Signs SB 75 which Lowers the Minimum Age
Requirement for an Intrastate Commercial Drivers License (CDL)

On August 16th, Gov. Dunleavy visited Northern Industrial Training (NIT) in Palmer
to sign SB 75 into law. SB 75 lowers the minimum age of licensure for an intrastate
(within Alaska) CDL from 19 to 18. It also adds a new subsection regarding
interstate commerce, lowering the minimum age requirement for a CDL to 18, if the
federal law regarding interstate commerce is also changed. Currently, federal law
requires a CDL holder to be 21 for interstate commerce.

The change in the law means that students can go directly from high school to
enrolling in CDL training without waiting a year.

The US Dept. of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration (FMCSA) Established New Minimum Training
Standards for Entry-Level Commercial Drivers and a New Training
Provider Registry that are Effective February 7, 2020

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) established new minimum
training standards for first time applicants for a Class A or Class B commercial driver's
license (CDL); those seeking to upgrade their CDL (e.g., a Class B CDL holder seeking a
Class A CDL); or those adding a new hazardous materials (H), passenger (P), or school bus
(S) endorsement on their CDL. These individuals are subject to the Entry Level Driver
Training (ELDT) requirements and must complete a prescribed program of theory and
behind-the-wheel (BTW) (range and public road) instruction provided by an entity that is
listed on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry (TPR).

The rule establishes minimum qualifications for a CDL school to be eligible for listing on
the FMCSA TPR. Training providers, must, at a minimum, offer and teach a training
curriculum that meets all FMCSA standards for entry-level drivers and must also meet
requirements related to: course administration, qualifications for instructional personnel,
assessments, issuance of training certificates, and equipment. Training providers that meet
these requirements would be eligible for listing on the TPR and must continue to meet the
eligibility requirements in order to stay listed on the TPR.

According to a July 12th update of the FMCSA website, training providers can register on
the TPR in November 2019, and at that time the Administration will provide guidance to
the industry for when and how this process will begin. Alaska CDL schools that are not
listed on the registry by February 7, 2020 will have their authorization for CDL training
revoked.

For more information on the TPR click here.
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Tell Us How We're Doing!

ACPE .alaska.gov

STAY CONNECTED

@ o @ E3

Kierke
kierke.kussart@alaska.gov

907.465.6741
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Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education | PO Box 110505 | Juneau | AK | 99811
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