ACPE Statutes & Regulations

The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) was established by the Legislature in 1974, to centralize planning for higher education, administer financial aid programs, and regulate postsecondary institutions in the State. In 1987, the Legislature established and capitalized the Alaska Student Loan Corporation (ASLC), to provide a mechanism to fund the Commission's programs through tax-exempt bond sales. The Commission and the Corporation continue to partner their efforts to provide educational benefits to all Alaskans.




Statutes are laws stating general authority, intention, and purpose, and are passed by the State Legislature.

Statutes governing the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education are:

  • Chapter 42 -  Postsecondary Education 
  • Chapter 43 -  Financial Aid Programs for Postsecondary Students
  • Chapter 48 -  Regulation of Postsecondary Education Institutions 

View ACPE Statutes [PDF - 220K/78 pages]




Regulations further articulate and interpret practices and procedures required to comply with Statutes. Regulations define how statutory laws will be implemented, and are adopted by the Commission, and approved by the Executive Branch.

Regulations governing the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education are:

  • Chapter 14 - Alaska Student Loan Corporation
  • Chapter 15 - Student Financial Aid 
  • Chapter 16 - Education Grant and Scholarship Programs 
  • Chapter 17 - Regulation of Postsecondary Education Institutions 
  • Chapter 18 - WICHE Professional Student Exchange Loan Program 
  • Chapter 19 - Financial Support for the WWAMI Program 

View ACPE Regulations in the Alaska Administrative Code [PDF - 795K/166 pages]