Application Process

Institutions applying for an initial authorization to operate in Alaska must meet minimum standards, as established in Alaska Statute (AS)14.48 and SEction 20 of the Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) Chapter 17. The minimum standards are outlined in the Initial Application for Authorization to Operate a Postsecondary Institution. To request an Initial Authorization Packet, contact the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) by email at EED.ACPE‐IA@alaska.gov or by telephone at 907‐465‐6741. The completed application, application fee, and all supporting documentation outlined in the packet, should be returned to ACPE, P.O. Box 110505, Juneau, AK, 99811-0505.

Initial authorization, renewal of authorization, or changes to an authorized institution, require Commission approval and must be submitted at least 90 days before the Commission meeting at which the request is to be considered.

Applications follow a similar process:

  • The institution submits the appropriate application, forms, and supporting materials to ACPE, including payment of fees.
  • Staff reviews the submitted documentation and schedules a site visit, as necessary. If the information is incomplete or additional information is required, staff will contact the institution.
  • Staff forwards a recommendation to the Commission for consideration at the next scheduled Commission meeting. 
  • The Commission reviews the institution information and staff recommendation at the quarterly meeting. Institution staff may comment on the information and recommendation at the meeting.
  • The Commission takes action on the application.
  • Staff notifies the institution of the Commission's action.

Fees and Deadlines

Authorization - Initial  $2,500
Authorization - Renewal $500-$2,500*
Exemption from Authorization $100
Amendment to Authorization: New Program; Program Revision; Change of Ownership $100
Amendment to Authorization: Change in Location $500
Additional Site Inspection             $500
Late Application $250
Agent’s Permit - Initial $500
Agent’s Permit - Renewal $250

* The Renewal of Authorization fee is set at 3% of average tuition receipts during the most recent authorization period

Application Deadline at 5:00pm,
AKST, on date below
Commission Meeting at which application will be considered:
October 14, 2022 January 12, 2023
January 5, 2023 April 5, 2023
April 14, 2023 July 13, 2023

Within 30 days of a change in ownership of an authorized institution, the institution must apply for a new authorization to operate. 

Changes to the institution's senior management, mission, educational program or program delivery, location, or any departure from program information specified in the institution's most recent authorization applicaiton must be approved by the Commission before implementaiton. 


Application Process



Non-Employee Recruiters

Any person that is not an employee of the institution, but recruits prospective students for enrollment at, or granting educational credentials from, a postsecondary educational institution, whether in or outside of Alaska, must submit an application for an agent's permit on forms provided by ACPE. See the Fees and Deadlines table above.

Duration of Status

Initial authorization is approved for a one-year period; an institution must renew authorization at the end of the one-year period. Authorization may be provisional based upon an applicant's ongoing documentation of meeting specified conditions. ACPE generally approves renewal of authorization for one to three-year periods.

Reporting Requirements

Institutions are required to submit student outcome information in a format provided by the Commission, and meet all other reporting requirements outlined as conditions of authorization.

Changes to Authorization

Authorization is specific to the terms of the authorization application and is not transferable. An application is required for the following actions:

  • initial authorization; required for sale, transfer, or change in ownership
  • renewal authorization
  • offering a new program or modifying an approved program
  • opening a new location or changing a location
  • changing the mission
  • obtaining or renewing an agent permit

Applications for initial authorization, renewal of authorization and agent permits must be submitted by the appropriate quarter deadline to be considered at the next Commission meeting. An authorized intitution shall notify the Commission before entering into negotiations related to the sale. At least 30 days before the effective date of a changeof ownership of an institution, the new owner shall submit a new Application for Authorization to Operate.